Support in other languages: 
Reply
Paper Tape
Hornnumb2
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Location: USA
0

Recovery cd help

Bought a X60 off ebay, ordered the recovery cds to load on new drive.  I put rescue and recovery boot disk in, it loads file and the then rescue windows pops up with no options. It then just restarts and goes through the same routine. It does have a pop up window for Computrace if that might be causing the problem. Thanks Michael

topmahof
Posts: 3,084
Topics: 36
Kudos: 327
Solutions: 223
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Recovery cd help

Hi Hornnumb2,

 

Is this a tablet?  Are the rescue discs for xp or Vista?  

 

I've gotten a couple of x60 tablets from ebay with the computrace in them.  You just hit the okay and then it goes into the bios.  Is the hard drive recognized when you press F12 at startup?

 

Dave 

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x200T, 2-x61Ts, 2-x61s, 2-x60Ts, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
Paper Tape
Hornnumb2
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Recovery cd help

Yes its a tablet, the recovery disk are XP.  I did load 7 on it from usb drive  just to see if it works but would like to get xp loaded so it will be set up right.  Thanks Michael

Paper Tape
Hornnumb2
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Recovery cd help

or can somebody thats has the first boot recovery disk upload it to see if I am missing something on mine. Thanks

Paper Tape
Hornnumb2
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Recovery cd help

Well what I ended up doing was puting the drive and recovery set in my T60 and did recovery from there. It went fine in the T60, I guess that Computrace Bios has something messed up so you can't overwrite what was on there.  Michael

topmahof
Posts: 3,084
Topics: 36
Kudos: 327
Solutions: 223
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Recovery cd help

If you can do a bios update, that gets rid of the computrace.  Both of mine had older bios in them, I upgraded to ver. 1.15 and the computrace disappeared .

 

Dave

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x200T, 2-x61Ts, 2-x61s, 2-x60Ts, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
Paper Tape
Hornnumb2
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Recovery cd help

The first thing I did was flash the bios, it updated the version but didn't remove the computrace. Then I tried to recover but no go.