Support in other languages: 
Reply
Paper Tape
gumby325
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Location: Canada
0
Accepted Solution

Switching Between Operating Systems

Hello,

I just purchased:

Processor Intel Core i7-640LM Processor (2.13GHz, 4M L3, 1066MHz FSB)
 Operating system  Windows XP Tablet PC preinstalled through downgrade rights in Genuine Windows 7 Professional
 Operating system Language  Windows XP Professional E preinstalled through downgrade rights from Genuine Windows 7 with recovery media - English
 Display  12.1" SuperBright Outdoor (1.2% reflectivity, multiple anti-reflectivity layers) LED WXGA (1280 x 800) 16:10 aspect panel with WideViewing Angle
 Total memory  4 GB PC3-8500 DDR3 SDRAM 1067MHz SODIMM Memory (1 DIMM)
 Keyboard  US English Keyboard
 Fingerprint  With Fingerprint Reader
 Camera  2.0M Pixel Camera
 Hard drive  500GB Hard Disk Drive, 7200rpm
 Modem & Media Slot  5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader with modem
 Bluetooth  Integrated Bluetooth PAN 2
 WiFi wireless LAN adapters  Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 AGN
 Battery  8-cell battery (7.9 hours); weight starting at 1.8kg
 Power Cord  65W AC Adapter; NA, LA, (2pin)
 Publication Language  English US Publication

 

I am not able to go between the two operating systems. I've tried going through the system advanced settings to set Windows 7 as the default but it is not party of the drop down list of operating systems? Am I missing something?

 

Thanks, Cheers, Bev.

Thanks, Cheers, Bev.
Community SuperMod
bananaman
Posts: 3,635
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: San Francisco
0

Re: Switching Between Operating Systems

Hi gumby325, and welcome to the Lenovo User Community!

 

What you have there is a Windows 7 license with Windows XP downgrade rights. That means you can run Windows XP, and when you are ready to upgrade to Windows 7, no need to buy a new license. But you can't use both at the same time!

 

http://www.microsoft.com/oem/en/licensing/sblicensing/Pages/what_to_do_downgrade_rights.aspx

 

Hope this helps!

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Paper Tape
gumby325
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Location: Canada
0

Re: Switching Between Operating Systems

Hello Bananaman,

Thanks for the quick reply and welcoming.

 

That makes sense and thank you, However the shell should be at least be XP Svcpak 3, but when I'm trying to install MSOffice 2010, I'm getting an error saying I don't have Windows 7 or XP svcpak 3? Any ideas there?

 

Thanks again. Cheers, Gumby325

Thanks, Cheers, Bev.
Community SuperMod
bananaman
Posts: 3,635
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: San Francisco
0

Re: Switching Between Operating Systems

Hi gumby325!

 

Make sure Windows Update was run recently. You can see which service packs you have installed at Start>right click Computer>Properties. You might also want to check this Microsoft forums board:

 

http://social.answers.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/officeinstall/threads

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Paper Tape
gumby325
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Location: Canada
0

Re: Switching Between Operating Systems

Thanks again.....Appreciate the insight.

 

Have a great day, Cheers, Gumby

Thanks, Cheers, Bev.