Support in other languages: 
Reply
Paper Tape
shaunwomersley
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
Location: England
0
Accepted Solution

x220 tablet solid state hard drive

Hi  new to the forum hoping someone can help

i keep receiving low storage on the  thinkvantage toolbox

i only have 14gb left  on the  c drive

i have the lenovo recovery Q drive  which is approx 9.8 gb

 

question is can i move the lenovo recovery to an external  hard drive  

how do i then gain access  to this space 

 

what are the other options for increasing the drive space 

photos - video - documents are all on external D drive

 

many thanks

Shaun

 

 

SCSI Port
DUTCHvanAtlanta
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎04-25-2011
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
0

Re: x220 tablet solid state hard drive

[ Edited ]

I think all HD's have less real space than is advertised; although my SSD seems to have less than comparable spinning HD's.

 

I have the "160 GB" SSD in my X220T, but Windows only shows that it has a total capacity of 147 GB.  With only a few added applications, it only has 89.7 GB remaining free; and I did remove the Lenovo Recovery Q Drive.

 

I was quite suprised by these numbers.

Guru
Audois
Posts: 432
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Location: France
0

Re: x220 tablet solid state hard drive

@Shaun

 

Read the documentation. If I recall, the Q drive is a backup of your system.


X220t | i7 | 320GB HDD | 8GB RAM | WIN7 PRO
IdeaCenter A520 | i5 | 1 TB HDD | 6GB RAM | WIN8.1
Paper Tape
shaunwomersley
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
Location: England
0

Re: x220 tablet solid state hard drive

thanks for the info

i understand that the Q drive is a backup

 

i just need to know if /how i can take it from my laptop hard drive and move it to an external drive

then  how to recover the space taken up

and if it will effect anything on the laptop

Guru
Audois
Posts: 432
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Location: France
0

Re: x220 tablet solid state hard drive

[ Edited ]

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.page?LegacyDocID=MIGR-70829

 

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.page?LegacyDocID=MIGR-71742


X220t | i7 | 320GB HDD | 8GB RAM | WIN7 PRO
IdeaCenter A520 | i5 | 1 TB HDD | 6GB RAM | WIN8.1
Paper Tape
shaunwomersley
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
Location: England
0

Re: x220 tablet solid state hard drive

Many thanks for this info

your reply is really appreciated

i will go through the process as described

best regards

Shaun

Paper Tape
shaunwomersley
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
Location: England
0

Re: x220 tablet solid state hard drive

only thing i dont get on screen is the pop up option  - recover drive space  - when the backup is complete   
So when double clicking the q drive i only get the format option  - if i choose this option will the space be taken up by the  OS C drive ?

Guru
Audois
Posts: 432
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Location: France
0

Re: x220 tablet solid state hard drive

What do you mean by "format option" ? The pop up has two buttons: "Create Recovery Media" and "Recover Drive Space".

 


X220t | i7 | 320GB HDD | 8GB RAM | WIN7 PRO
IdeaCenter A520 | i5 | 1 TB HDD | 6GB RAM | WIN8.1
Token Ring
committed88
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎06-13-2011
Location: Florida, US

Re: x220 tablet solid state hard drive

If you format the drive you're just erasing it, you'l still need to merge the 2 partitions. There is software that should do that for you. If you can't find it, you can use system tools to do it. (right click the computer menu item and click on manage. Then click on disk management in the tree. Then right click on your c partition, there should be an option to extend the drive. Click this, make sure you have your q partition selected, and it should do the rest)



-If this post was helpful maybe consider giving me a kudos for it.
Thinkpad x230 -i5, 16gb RAM, 240gb SSD, 500gb 7.2k hdd, win 8.1 pro
Thinkpad x220t - multi-touch, i7, 16gb RAM, 80gb SSD, 320gb 7.2k hdd, win 7 pro 64
Paper Tape
shaunwomersley
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
Location: England
0

Re: x220 tablet solid state hard drive

they laptop was origionally going to be a backup machine so 

i created backup discs as soon as i recieved the machine

at that point i didnt need the hard drive space   so exited the program without recovering the backup space

 

now i need the space

if i double click the Q  drive

i dont get the recover option  only the format option

 

or if i go into the lenovo recovery disc creator  it wont go to that option tab to recover as it says i already have a copy and cant make more

 

thanks

Shaun