Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
seas
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2008
Location: Germany
0
Accepted Solution

Can I use F3507G in X300 ?

Dear All,

 

I currently use a Sierra Wireless MC8775 in my X300 - is it possible to upgrade to a Ericsson F3507G ?

 

Thanks !

Agotthelf
Posts: 3,808
Topics: 145
Kudos: 262
Solutions: 183
Registered: ‎01-05-2008
Location: Münster, Germany GMT +1
0

Re: Can I use F3507G in X300 ?

Hello,

 

yes, it should be possible. Take a look here.

 

Here in X300 section you´ll find usefull videos to change the card. Go to CRU /Removals then WWAN.

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using New X1 Carbon, ThinkPad Yoga, Yoga 11s, Yoga 13, T430s,T510, X220t, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

Paper Tape
seas
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2008
Location: Germany
0

Re: Can I use F3507G in X300 ?

Hi Andreas/All,

 

thanks for the fast reply !

 

My question was about if the Ericsson WWAN Card is supported by the X300 at all as I found the following comment in this forum:

 

"...newer cards aren't whitelisted in older machines so the ericsson card won't work in the X300 without modding the BIOS.   even then, you're on your own with support since that card is untested in an X300....."

 

http://forum.lenovo.com/lnv/board/message?board.id=X_Series_Thinkpads&message.id=4217&query.id=30428...

 

Does anyone know if this is (still) valid or if there is a possibility to get the F3507G working on a X300 6478-14G?

(or if there will be a firmware update to support the E/// card)

 

Thanks and best regards

Stefan

community supermod
erik
Posts: 5,038
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0

Re: Can I use F3507G in X300 ?

BIOSes on previous systems aren't updated to include (whitelist) newer cards.   you would need to modify your BIOS to accept the F3507G.   my quote above still holds true in your case. :smileywink:

ThinkStation C20Microsoft MVP
ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · s30

What's DOS?
Bob1969
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Location: Belgium
0

Re: Can I use F3507G in X300 ?

The dumn thing was sent me by mistake by Planet-Notebook.com - I placed an order for 42T0931 but received 43Y6479. Naively, I tried to fire it up in X300. No luck. The card is not detected (even though there were no BIOS errors) - it does not appear in Device manager (no yellow marks, no new devices), it is not seen by any connection manager - I appeared as if it were not plugged in att all. Had to return it back - hoping to get my Sierra Wireless (what I paid for). Did anyone succeed with that mission?