Support in other languages: 
Reply
Paper Tape
namratab2000
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-19-2009
Location: USA
0

Does X30 Laptop with XP SP3 work with WPA ?

Hi,

 

I have a X30 (26724XU) laptop with Windows XP SP3 (5.1.2600).

I have a Cisco PCI Wireless LAN Adpater built in which is a 350 Seires Mini PCI with Firmware v5.0.2.19.

I also have the latest version of Access Manager. 

 

I can't seem to get it working with WPA will all the updates,etc...

Any way to find out if the adapter supports WPA or I need to install a patch ?

Would buying a USB Wireless adapter be a viable alternative option ? 

 

Any help very much appreciated. 

 

Thanks,

Ashish

topmahof
Posts: 3,124
Topics: 36
Kudos: 337
Solutions: 227
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Does X30 Laptop with XP SP3 work with WPA ?

your wireless card doesn't  support wpa. i believe your card is a b card and there is no g card that will work in your machine. the only way i know to get g speed is to use a wireless adapter in your pc slot or a usb wireless dongle. i rebuilt a couple of x30s and i know your usb ports are 1.1 not 2.0 so a usb dongle will probably not work so well.  the best way to go is a wireless card for the pc slot.

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x200T, 2-x61Ts, 2-x61s, 2-x60Ts, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
ajkula66
Posts: 7,602
Kudos: 750
Solutions: 792
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: Does X30 Laptop with XP SP3 work with WPA ?

Intel 2200BG, as well as IBM (Atheros) b/g or a/b/g will work in X30 just fine. Been there and done that. Good luck.
Cheers,

George




In daily use: T43pSF, R60F, T61, X301

Collecting dust: T60, T61p, R500F

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W

I build FrankenPads....scary FrankenPads...

S = SATA-mod (on T43/p units only)
F = FrankenPad
L = LED-mod utilizing an UXGA AFFS LED screen


Please DO NOT PM me with requests for individual support, but post your questions and concerns in the appropriate section of the forum where other users can benefit from them as well. Thank you.
.
topmahof
Posts: 3,124
Topics: 36
Kudos: 337
Solutions: 227
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Does X30 Laptop with XP SP3 work with WPA ?

correct me if i'm wrong but isn't there a white list on the bios that won't allow another card to be used. i tried intel's card and ibm's card and when you install it and turn the computer on it says power off and remove unauthorized card. is there a bios update or something that will allow me to use different cards because i tried everything i knew of to get a g card to work in a x30.  thanks, dave

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x200T, 2-x61Ts, 2-x61s, 2-x60Ts, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
ajkula66
Posts: 7,602
Kudos: 750
Solutions: 792
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: Does X30 Laptop with XP SP3 work with WPA ?

That can be bypassed, although I've never seen an "1802 error" on a X30...more on the given issue here: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=20365
Cheers,

George




In daily use: T43pSF, R60F, T61, X301

Collecting dust: T60, T61p, R500F

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W

I build FrankenPads....scary FrankenPads...

S = SATA-mod (on T43/p units only)
F = FrankenPad
L = LED-mod utilizing an UXGA AFFS LED screen


Please DO NOT PM me with requests for individual support, but post your questions and concerns in the appropriate section of the forum where other users can benefit from them as well. Thank you.
.
topmahof
Posts: 3,124
Topics: 36
Kudos: 337
Solutions: 227
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Does X30 Laptop with XP SP3 work with WPA ?

i checked out your link and another one and it seems that yes i can bypass the 1802 error but it still won't acknowledge the card. They haven't figured out yet how to get a g card to work in an x30. Aside from flashing the bios. I don't think I want to get that intrusive into the machine. I really don't want to brick it. So I guess I'll wait and see.  When they figure it out I'll go back to rebuilding x30s.  The only reason I got away from them was the wireless b card.

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x200T, 2-x61Ts, 2-x61s, 2-x60Ts, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
ajkula66
Posts: 7,602
Kudos: 750
Solutions: 792
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: Does X30 Laptop with XP SP3 work with WPA ?

 I know for a fact that several TPF members were running both Intel 2200BG and Atheros (IBM) abg cards in X30, so I'm dead certain that it's doable.


Personally, I'd go with 2200BG, but that's me...


Good luck.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: T43pSF, R60F, T61, X301

Collecting dust: T60, T61p, R500F

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W

I build FrankenPads....scary FrankenPads...

S = SATA-mod (on T43/p units only)
F = FrankenPad
L = LED-mod utilizing an UXGA AFFS LED screen


Please DO NOT PM me with requests for individual support, but post your questions and concerns in the appropriate section of the forum where other users can benefit from them as well. Thank you.
.
topmahof
Posts: 3,124
Topics: 36
Kudos: 337
Solutions: 227
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Does X30 Laptop with XP SP3 work with WPA ?

thanks, i'll give it a go again.

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x200T, 2-x61Ts, 2-x61s, 2-x60Ts, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!