Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Punch Card
nicbex

Betreff: Faint Ghosting on X220 IPS screen

Yes, but either way it is related to the monitor and not the graphic card, i.e. it has nothing to do with a second monitor.

Fanfold Paper
silencer51

Yesterday I placed an order on an i7 X220 with the IPS screen. I'm hoping that this manufacturing defect has been rectified in newer batches.

Either way, every X220 comes with a 3-year warranty, and since this appears to be a common problem I don't doubt that owners who are bothered by the issue will be able to have their screens replaced without hassle. And we have the internet to thank for that (various forums, youtube, etc.) One just needs to have patience until LG rectify the issue and begin producing a new panel revision (the problem may already have been fixed).

As for the causes of image persistence.. I have been using only IPS displays for the past 10 years, most of them LG models. My older 21" 4:3 LG TFT used an IPS panel (one of the very first) and after about 5-6 years of continuous operation it developed severe 'burn in' (image persistence) on the top and bottom - where the taskbar and window title bars are). On my newer monitors I make sure to keep things on the screen as fluid as possible (taskbar is set to autohide, screen saver at 4 minutes etc.)

As for the X220's screen issue, backlight has nothing to do with it (my old LG used CCFL backlight) - this is a panel problem and the root cause is most likely the liquid crystal solution used in the display (the crystals don't align back to their original position as they should). This should be easy to fix at the manufacturing stage, however in large scale operations such as LCD panel manufacturing a lot of problematic batches leave the factory before the error is rectified.

Guru
HiVolt