Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-12-2012
Location: milky way
0

Is there any BIOS for enabling AES-NI for i5-2410M

[ Edited ]

I'd like to enable AES-NI in my i5-2410M  X220. I found out that for unlocking AES-NI I need updated BIOS with new CPU microcode revision. Is there any BIOS for  X220 which includes new microcode, which supports AES-NI commans for  i5-2410M?

Posts: 3,297
Topics: 25
Kudos: 387
Solutions: 250
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Is there any BIOS for enabling AES-NI for i5-2410M

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-V-and-Z-series/IdeaPad-y570-and-AES-NI/m-p/479013#M39663

 

AES-NI has been enabled since the T410 series.  

 

Run the tool from that other thread and see if it's there.  

 

Dave

 

 

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x301, x200T, x61T, x61, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch, Yoga Tab 2 Windows 8.1, Yoga Tablet 3 Pro
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Guru
Posts: 8,009
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Is there any BIOS for enabling AES-NI for i5-2410M

The i5-2410M doesn't have AES-NI.

http://ark.intel.com/products/52224/Intel-Core-i5-2410M-Processor-%283M-Cache-2_30-GHz%29
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1082/693/1386, 21GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Posts: 3,297
Topics: 25
Kudos: 387
Solutions: 250
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Is there any BIOS for enabling AES-NI for i5-2410M

Ok, I thought just the i3 didn't have it.

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x301, x200T, x61T, x61, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch, Yoga Tab 2 Windows 8.1, Yoga Tablet 3 Pro
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-12-2012
Location: milky way
0

Re: Is there any BIOS for enabling AES-NI for i5-2410M

You're wrong.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Core_i5_microprocessors

From wiki: Core i5-2410M, i5-2415M can support AES-NI with laptop OEM-supplied BIOS processor configuration update.

I ask is there AES-NI update for Core i5-2410M X220?
Posts: 473
Topics: 16
Kudos: 24
Solutions: 15
Registered: ‎05-03-2010
Location: Italy
0

Re: Is there any BIOS for enabling AES-NI for i5-2410M


ithink wrote:
You're wrong.



He is not wrong.

http://ark.intel.com/products/52224

Guru
Posts: 8,009
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Is there any BIOS for enabling AES-NI for i5-2410M

This gets strange from here...

At the bottom of the Intel ark document, it states:

"Some products can support AES New Instructions with a Processor Configuration update, in particular, i7-2630QM/i7-2635QM, i7-2670QM/i7-2675QM, i5-2430M/i5-2435M, i5-2410M/i5-2415M. Please contact OEM for the BIOS that includes the latest Processor configuration update."

Which is consistent with the Wikipedia article...
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1082/693/1386, 21GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Posts: 473
Topics: 16
Kudos: 24
Solutions: 15
Registered: ‎05-03-2010
Location: Italy
0

Re: Is there any BIOS for enabling AES-NI for i5-2410M

[ Edited ]

Ok, if the intel itself doesn't know if the support is present or not the confusion is clearly explainable.

Here Anandtech tanks about the MBP and mention that processor as not rsupported.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4205/the-macbook-pro-review-13-and-15-inch-2011-brings-sandy-bridge/3

Here an Ubuntu user sayd the opposite.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=11389371&postcount=10

 

Just guessing: but probably the product page I linked is wrong and Anand was fooled like me.

At this point is hard to have a definitive answer.

Punch Card
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-08-2009
Location: Czech Republic
0

Re: Is there any BIOS for enabling AES-NI for i5-2410M

late, but i5-2410 in X220 with actual BIOS support AES

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/535/cpuzi52410m.png/

Token Ring
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎10-12-2008
Location: Adelaide, Australia
0

Re: Is there any BIOS for enabling AES-NI for i5-2410M

To All,

My friend has one X220 with 2410M which supports AES-NI, just like @jzivan showed. I guess what is happening here is some of them supports but some doesn't.
---------------------------------------------------------
[2011]X220-4286-CTO(Brand new, hope nothing bad will happen to it...)[2008]X61-7673-CV2(Slipped upon it, but also working)[2002]X31-2672-BCH(Broke screen, but still working!)