Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Paper Tape
emrepus

Just another wish list for X2xx

Dear Lenovo team,

since two years I am a proud possessor of a X220i (sadly I could not afford better back then). Since then I am actually quite enthusiastic regarding your products - or rather brand - using every chance for telling my friends to buy Thinkpads.

As a student, I think the X2xx-line is the best to get, since it has the ideal size and weight for carrying it around all day - literally, from one class to the next, not just from home to the workplace - while retaining a great deal of usablility and ergonomics (i.e. the x1 does not feel right while using it, I actually like how my palm rests exactly on the downcurve from "the Bento legacy" as I call the new lid design). Not too small or too big. Yes 14" is too big. Just the best thing for university.

Now having said all that, there is still things I wish to see for the next refresh of the X2xx-line:

1. Make the IPS panel available to all processor options. There is just no excuse for such a bad TN. (I will be able to afford a better processor - and thus IPS - next time, but it's sad for all the others who have to pay 250 more to even unlock the option for IPS) Also, could you find more screenspace within the existing size of the notebook?

2. Add Thunderbolt. Power plus 2 connectors, all at the very left side on the back. (I won't upgrade until X2xx has at least one port. Sorry.)

3. Remove the following things entirely:

- the HDD cage (instead make it possible to have a mSSD additionally to WWAN, or two while you are at it)

- the LAN connection

- the VGA and Displayport connection

- the analog jack

- the card reader (is btw. a weakspot for palmrest)

- the express card reader (see above)

4. Instead of the above utilise the daisy-chain technology of Thunderbolt to design smart adapter solutions. See end of post.

5. Make the following stuff optional when ordering: