Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Paper Tape
bendispo

Major X220 Motherboard Problems, Horrible Service

Lenovo's had my X220 for over three weeks now.  Just like a lot of people have posted here, I'm waiting for a replacement for faulty motherboard.  Last week, they had the part ETA as sometime mid this week.  I just spoke to another agent, and now the ETA is February 24th, which means it will be over a month since I sent in my laptop... and there's still no guarantees.

I'm finding this experience infuriating and frustrating.  I'm a student, and I can't afford to just go out and buy another machine.  I do all my work on my laptop... so to have a relatively new machine be out of my hands for over a month is inexcusable, especially when many of us purchased Thinkpads based on a reputation of reliability.  All of the agents I've spoken to have told me there's absolutely nothing they can do.  The can't expedite my case (no parts), can't provide a loaner or new machine.

What makes this even more ridiculous is that it seems like motherboard failure on the X220 is a widespread, serious phenomenon.  Just perusing these boards, I see there are 3 separate currently active threads where motherboard failure seems to be the primary cause:

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-ThinkPad-Laptops/x220-does-not-resume-from-sleep/td-p/594945

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-ThinkPad-Laptops/x201-random-shutdown/td-p/227471

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-ThinkPad-Laptops/X220-no-post-and-green-light-around-power-butt...

My system exhibited all three of these symptoms.  

I'm getting the feeling that many of us who purchased the X220 have been sold lemons.  Unfortunately, no lemon laws apply to consumer electronics... that I know of.