Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
coldcaption
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-07-2011
Location: The US
0

Replacement panels for X120e?

Hello!

So I think the X120e is great. Pretty fast, small, good battery life, etc. But the screen is bad. The job gets done for reading text or casual use; but viewing angles aren't so awesome, colors are washed out and it doesn't have blacks or contrast ratio to speak of. I don't know much about specific laptop hardware; are there standards for connectors used in displays? And with that, are there places to buy a better display to put in once the warranty is up? Handling hardware is no problem for me, I just don't know how viable of an idea it is. Thanks!

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,794
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Replacement panels for X120e?

I had an X100e with a Samsung panel that I found to be fairly good.

See:
http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-ThinkPad-Laptops/X100e-and-X120e-screen-survey/td-p/421985

Might also want to see if you have VariBright on in Catalyst Control Center; it causes colors to wash out sometimes.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
802.11n
wildone81
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: Replacement panels for X120e?

If we only knew the exact part number of that Samsung panel, then it'd be easy to grab a panel that we could then install ourselves. Personally, I've found a few different Samsung panels on Ebay, though if they were glossy or not I couldn't say (let alone the same one used in the X120e). As for connectors, I think it's the standard LVDS used by most everyone.
Paper Tape
coldcaption
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-07-2011
Location: The US
0

Re: Replacement panels for X120e?

Would it be possible, then, to use most-any screen if it were 11.6" and used an LVDS connector?

802.11n
wildone81
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: Replacement panels for X120e?

Theoretically, yes, but it all depends on the length of whatever cables and mounting holes and whatnot. Just don't hold me to that and you should be "ok".