Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Ctrl-Alt-Del
mobiuspizza
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-24-2011
Location: UK
0

Re: The X220 with the Renice X3

After a day of debugging I am certain that it's something wrong with the drive. The problem is quite common with sandforce drives, like this: http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?93515-New-SSD-Agility-3-Bluescreen-Stop-0x000... I think it's something to do with Sandforce's handling of sectors with CRC errors. Attempts to read or write to these sectors will result in bluescreen or freeze. Someone said Secure Erase may fix the problem but I never had luck getting it to work with my chipset, it always blocks the command. Luckily Renice support is quite quick at replying emails and agree to replace my drive with postage paid.
Fanfold Paper
j27h
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-09-2011
Location: Italy
0

Re: The X220 with the Renice X3

At this point (09/11/2011 - Bios 1.21) Renice x3 drives can be considered compatible or not with the x220? How many people had made it to work?
Punch Card
cybergibbons
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Location: United Kingdom
0

Re: The X220 with the Renice X3

Been running with mine for 6 weeks now and it is fine.

Ctrl-Alt-Del
mobiuspizza
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-24-2011
Location: UK
0

Re: The X220 with the Renice X3

I had mine for 8 weeks on x220 around July-August 2011 until it broke. I sent it back to Renice and now I get a new one. I am going to disable trim and allocate some unpartitioned space for conditioning this time. Hopefully it won't break down again.
802.11n
JNavas
Posts: 575
Registered: ‎08-07-2010
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
0

Re: The X220 with the Renice X3


mobiuspizza wrote:
I had mine for 8 weeks on x220 around July-August 2011 until it broke. I sent it back to Renice and now I get a new one. I am going to disable trim and allocate some unpartitioned space for conditioning this time. Hopefully it won't break down again.

Disabling Trim won't help -- it will only serve to decrease capacity and performance.

Likewise allocating "unpartitioned space for conditioning" (whatever that means).

Hope that helps,
John
ThinkPad T420s [ i7-2640M CPU | 8GB RAM | 1TB SSD | Bay Battery | BT | Webcam | FR | Win7Pro64 ]
What's DOS?
theute
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Location: Switzerland
0

Re: The X220 with the Renice X3

So I bought one and it died in few days, returned and got a new one. I installed it, it survived as long as I kept the machine on, after a restart of the machine I could never get it back, not even recognized by the BIOS...

802.11n
JNavas
Posts: 575
Registered: ‎08-07-2010
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
0

Re: The X220 with the Renice X3

My Intel 310 Series mSATA has worked perfectly from the day I got it 7 months ago, part of the reason I went with Intel.
Hope that helps,
John
ThinkPad T420s [ i7-2640M CPU | 8GB RAM | 1TB SSD | Bay Battery | BT | Webcam | FR | Win7Pro64 ]
Punch Card
cybergibbons
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Location: United Kingdom
0

Re: The X220 with the Renice X3

[ Edited ]

Just a quick post - my Renice X3, installed 28 July last year, failed last week. Some data is still accessible from a USB booted OS, but it locks up from time to when copying data off.

 

Replaced with Crucial M4 MSATA now.

 

Moderator Note; post merged in subject edited, was "Renice X3 failure"