Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
talak_talan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-27-2011
Location: Germany
0

X100e BIOS settings / RAM frequency

[ Edited ]

Greetings to all!

 

After having upgraded my X100e with new RAM I have a question about the BIOS update policy and RAM frequencies.

 

My system has a single core Neo MV-40 cpu and the newest BIOS 1.31 dated 02/17/2011. I have replaced the original Samsung PC2-5300 DDR2 (one SODIMM w/ 2GB) with Mushkin PC2-6400 DDR2 (two SODIMM w/ 2GB each, part # 991577). With the preinstalled 32bit Win7 Pro the useable memory has increased from ~ 1,8 GB to ~ 2,8 GB and memory runs in dual channel mode now. Start-up of the OS and of larger programs is now faster. So far, so good.

 

However, memory frequency remains at 1/5 the CPU core frequency, which is 320 MHz at full speed and only 160 MHz at low speed (not including the double data rate). To make the most out of the PC2-6400 RAM it would be best to run it at 1/2 of the HT clock (800 MHz), if possible, or at least at 1/4 the CPU core frequency.

 

Questions:

 

#1 - Is this a hardware limitation of the Neo CPU or chipset? Comparable AMD desktop CPUs / chipsets offer variable clock ratios based on the HT clock.

#2 - If not, is there any chance to include a RAM speed setting into a future BIOS for the X100e ThinkPad as an option?

 

Thank you in advance for your thoughts on that matter.

 

Regards

Alex

 

 

Bit Torrent
Vince69
Posts: 1,213
Registered: ‎12-24-2010
Location: Perth, Australia
0

Re: X100e BIOS settings / RAM frequency

Hello mate,

 

You should try to install AMD Overdrive.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

Blue Screen Again
talak_talan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-27-2011
Location: Germany
0

Re: X100e BIOS settings / RAM frequency

Hello Vince,

 

thanks for the link. Unfortunately, been there, done that. :-) I can tweak some timings like CAS latency but not the serious stuff (clock frequency).

 

Greetings to 'down under'.

Alex

Bit Torrent
Vince69
Posts: 1,213
Registered: ‎12-24-2010
Location: Perth, Australia
0

Re: X100e BIOS settings / RAM frequency

I don't think there is a chance to hav this option in the bios one day.

Thinkpad are professional laptop, not really made to do overclocking.

After that if you are not under warranty anymore, there is always the possibility to hack the bios and unlock some features for overclocking.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,784
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: X100e BIOS settings / RAM frequency

The CPU is overclockable, as is the GPU, but both are definitely not great ideas considering the already toasty heat output of the X100e. Also voids your warranty, may fry your chip, or blow up your toaster. YMMV :smileyhappy:
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Blue Screen Again
talak_talan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-27-2011
Location: Germany
0

Re: X100e BIOS settings / RAM frequency

Good evening from a sunny Frankfurt!

No, I don't want to fry my morning eggs on the X100e, either. *grin*

But just a reminder, I was not talking 'bout overclocking, only running the RAM at the rated clock. CPU at 1600 or 800 MHz, HT at 800 MHz, RAM at 400 MHz. Nothing which could not be included into a business notebook BIOS. :smileywink:

Cheers!

Alex

Blue Screen Again
talak_talan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-27-2011
Location: Germany
0

Re: X100e BIOS settings / RAM frequency

Since there have been no new replies, another question to maybe close this topic then: Is there any possibility to send an "request for feature" to Lenovo, concerning Bios updates? I guess the guys responsible do not read here? :smileyhappy:

 

P.S.: Just received a new battery for my X100e, works fine so far. I did not find a dealer for an original part in my area or online, so I bought a compatible battery.

 

Regards

Alex