Support in other languages: 
Reply
Punch Card
EGlasheen
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-11-2011
Location: NY
0
Accepted Solution

X120e E-350 chokes on Netflix HD. Any ideas?

Hello,

 

As stated above. Computer is completely updated but still cannot handle the buffer rate of Netflix HD. Video is choppy and stepped and audio is out of sync. Same whether on battery or plugged in. Any ideas on how to solve this problem?

 

Thanks,

 

Ed

802.11n
wildone81
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: X120e E-350 chokes on Netflix HD. Any ideas?

If Netflix uses Flash, then make sure that hardware acceleration is enabled, and try to limit it to 720p. I know at least that much should work without issue, but 1080p will more than likely bog down.
Token Ring
orion9727
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Location: boston

Re: X120e E-350 chokes on Netflix HD. Any ideas?

you need silverlight 5 beta.
11.8 amd driver of lastest.
check silverlight playback.
http://www.iis.net/media/experiencesmoothstreaming1080p

tron works for me high setting in netflix.
it however is nothing like a ps3........expect a slight flicker.
sliverlight is very demanding more so then flash.
i use IE 9 - that surports GPU off loading.
you will need that.

set power scheme max performance in windows and just change the battery items for better run time.
you will need to be pluged in.

brazos is kkinda light for HD playback.
no htpc works well unless it has a real mobile chip and a gpu.
so dont expect instant wella.
HD really requires things like a PS3.
i have a sony blue ray 2nd model up both sucked.

a decent ssd will help like a M4 or samsung 830 or a intel msata.
dont buy sandforce.

also tweek some of the start ups and try to get your windows processes down to around 35.
atoms.brazos,neos just kinda too light for this sorta work but it works just not as well as my ps3.
thats the bar pretty much.
want that you need a sandy bridge pretty much.
all those hptc sold are all crap none work well.
my B575 works good and i tested a G575 on netflix.
not bad tron works fine.
Token Ring
steinAK
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎06-30-2010
Location: Juneau, Alaska
0

Re: X120e E-350 chokes on Netflix HD. Any ideas?

[ Edited ]
Punch Card
EGlasheen
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-11-2011
Location: NY
0

Re: X120e E-350 chokes on Netflix HD. Any ideas?

Thanks all for your reply.

 

I feel the problem is with Netflix's Silverlight downstream as I do not have issues with other site's HD streams.

 

I quit Netflix and will go back to burning DVDs.

 

Thanks,

 

Ed

Token Ring
orion9727
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Location: boston
0

Re: X120e E-350 chokes on Netflix HD. Any ideas?

i found a tiny slight lag not bad at all.
again i set the bar witha PS3 and nothing performs as good as that in the non pc player market.
cat drivers really dont come into play as silverlight dose not use GPU and it GPU offloading is not working as of yet unlike flash 11.
HD really requires a decent cpu.
it is 100% playable if you do what i said i tested a few brazos systems but like i said min is beta 5 silverlight and check the bunny because if he lags so will netflix.
and make sure you pop out the player too.
Paper Tape
jeykumar83
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-20-2013
Location: United States
0

Re: X120e E-350 chokes on Netflix HD. Any ideas?

I am facing exactly the same problem.

 

EGlasheen, I bet you will see the same choppiness A / V offsync if you try to place the below link in 1080p resolution.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyxquxbQq1

 

Seems my CPU is 100% loaded when I play any video of real blu ray resolution.

Paper Tape
jeykumar83
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-20-2013
Location: United States
0

Re: X120e E-350 chokes on Netflix HD. Any ideas?

This is not helping to fix the problem :smileysad:

goretsky
Posts: 1,944
Topics: 19
Kudos: 348
Solutions: 132
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: California, USA
0

Re: X120e E-350 chokes on Netflix HD. Any ideas?

Hello,


Slightly newer ATI Mobility Catalyst drivers (v12.10) can be found at:

 

32-bit:  http://www2.ati.com/drivers/mobile/12-10_mobility_vista_win7_win8_32_dd_ccc_whql_net4.exe

64-bit:  http://www2.ati.com/drivers/mobile/12-10_mobility_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql_net4.exe

 

Perhaps installing these will make a difference.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee. • Dexter is a good dog • Dexter je dobrý pes
S230u (3347-4HU)X220 (4286-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)T61p (6459-CTO)T43p (2678-H7U)T42 (2378-R4U)T23 (2648-LU7)
de.gif  Deutsche Community es.gif  Comunidad en Español
goretsky
Posts: 1,944
Topics: 19
Kudos: 348
Solutions: 132
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: California, USA
0

Re: X120e E-350 chokes on Netflix HD. Any ideas?

[ Edited ]

Hello,


The ATI Mobility Catalyst drivers have now been updated to the v13 series.  The latest versions, v13.4, can be found at:

 

32-bit:  http://www2.ati.com/DriverS/mobile/13-4_mobility_vista_win7_win8_32_dd_ccc_whql.exe

64-bit:  http://www2.ati.com/DriverS/mobile/13-4_mobility_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql.exe

 

I am in the process of downloading these myself, so have not yet installed them on my X120e.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee. • Dexter is a good dog • Dexter je dobrý pes
S230u (3347-4HU)X220 (4286-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)T61p (6459-CTO)T43p (2678-H7U)T42 (2378-R4U)T23 (2648-LU7)
de.gif  Deutsche Community es.gif  Comunidad en Español