Support in other languages: 
Reply
Fanfold Paper
Beachwoodbruin
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Location: NJ, USA...in a van down by the river.
0
Accepted Solution

X201 BlueScreens everytime it's docked.

Hello gang,

 

Got an X201 ( 3249-2hu) that bluescreens (000007f) every time it is redocked into the Ultrabase docking station. 

 

Things I've done::

 

Swapped docking stations

Updated BIOS

Updated Wireless driver (different issue, but thought I'd mention it anyway)

Updated Power Management

Updated Intel chipset

Disabled bluetooth (resolved a few weird issues with this, thought it was worth trying again)

 

Things unique::

 

Client runs a monitor as an extended unit  ((2 screens) (We have plenty of these, just wanted to mention it)

Client runs a M$ wireless mouse and we just updated that driver too.

 

Any other suggestions?

 

BWB

 

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,377
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: X201 BlueScreens everytime it's docked.

Which OS is it?
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Fanfold Paper
Beachwoodbruin
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Location: NJ, USA...in a van down by the river.
0

Re: X201 BlueScreens everytime it's docked.

Whoops sorry about that,

 

WINXP (from the facotry CD's)  SP3..

 

Thanku!

BWB

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,377
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: X201 BlueScreens everytime it's docked.

Could you run ThinkVantage System Update and make sure everything is up-to-date? Windows Update as well.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Paper Tape
cclaerhout
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-08-2011
Location: Taiwan
0

Re: X201 BlueScreens everytime it's docked.

[ Edited ]

I had a similar problem on my X201s on Windows 7 after I've upgraded to Intel HD Graphics 8.15.10.23.12. When my laptop was docked with VGA connection, no problem. But once I activated the Displayport (on HDMI), a big ugly blue screen came to me. The solution is to go the control panel, device manager, Graphic Card, Intel HD Graphic, open it, go to driver and update driver to the previous version : Intel HD Graphics 8.15.10.22.02. It solved my problem. I hope this bug will be fixed in the next release.

Fanfold Paper
Beachwoodbruin
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Location: NJ, USA...in a van down by the river.
0

Re: X201 BlueScreens everytime it's docked.

Just saw I neevr updated this.  Turned out it was the shell itself. A bad pin under her laptop. All is well (or she grew tired of complaining about it, one or the other..) :smileyvery-happy:

What's DOS?
ml2388
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-11-2011
Location: US
0

Re: X201 BlueScreens everytime it's docked.

I have a similar problem. i have a X201 (3626) running Windows 7 and have 2 docking stations, one at office one at home.

My computer will go blue screen everytime it is restored from sleep/hibernate from a different dock other than the one i put it on sleep/hibernate.

 

I went to the minidump and found the below. I have updated BIOS, power management, chipset, graphics driver still no use.

 

MODULE_NAME: ACPI

FAULTING_MODULE: fffff80003059000 nt

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4ce79294

EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at 0x%08lx referenced memory at 0x%08lx. The memory could not be %s.

FAULTING_IP:
+1c
00000000`00000001 ??              ???

EXCEPTION_RECORD:  fffff880038c0188 -- (.exr 0xfffff880038c0188)
ExceptionAddress: 0000000000000001
   ExceptionCode: c0000005 (Access violation)
  ExceptionFlags: 00000000
NumberParameters: 2
   Parameter[0]: 0000000000000008
   Parameter[1]: 0000000000000001
Attempt to execute non-executable address 0000000000000001

CONTEXT:  fffff880038bf9e0 -- (.cxr 0xfffff880038bf9e0)
rax=0000000000000000 rbx=fffffa800a077a70 rcx=0000000000000000
rdx=0000000000000000 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=fffffa800aa381d0
rip=0000000000000001 rsp=fffff880038c03c8 rbp=fffffa8003d624c0
 r8=fffff880038c0450  r9=0000000000000000 r10=fffffa8003b3baa0
r11=fffff880038c03c0 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000040
r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000001
iopl=0         nv up ei pl zr na po nc
cs=0010  ss=0000  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010246
00000000`00000001 ??              ???
Resetting default scope