Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
FinnJensen
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-24-2011
Location: Denmark
0
Accepted Solution

X220 - terminal server problem / 3G / VPN

Hi all,

 

I have two X220's with identical problems. Normal procedure for connecting to our terminal server (Windows 7 - server = v2008) is:

- connect to the internet

- connect to VPN (using Cisco VPN Client Version 5.0.07.0290)

- connect to terminal server

 

Everything works fine when connecting through WIFI - and everything works fine when connecting via the integrated broadband modem in the X220 until trying to connect to the terminal server. Then it says the Remote Desktop cannot find the computer XX.

 

I.e. everything works great until that step. This includes full working internet over 3G and succesfull connection to VPN.

 

Since I have two identical machines - this should rule out hardware errors. It must be software.

 

Ideas? Anyone?

Punch Card
motomandk
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎05-13-2011
Location: Silkeborg, Denmark
0

Re: X220 - terminal server problem / 3G / VPN

I could imagine some firewall settings related to the WAN.

But i am not the expert - i will ask my son tomorrow, he is a systemadministrator and knows these things!

 

Så hører du fra mig igen!

 

Hilsen

/Henrik - Denmark
X220 - i7-2620, 8GB, 128GB Samsung 830 SSD (I just LOVE my X220!)
Blue Screen Again
FinnJensen
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-24-2011
Location: Denmark
0

Re: X220 - terminal server problem / 3G / VPN

I have tried deactivating the firewall, unfortunately without luck.

 

Looking forward to hearing from you.

 

Tak ;-)

Punch Card
motomandk
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎05-13-2011
Location: Silkeborg, Denmark
0

Re: X220 - terminal server problem / 3G / VPN

Just to be 100% sure.

Do we agree, that everything works correctly if you are using either ethernet or WiFi - also the RDP connection?

 

And ONLY with WAN the connection and VPN is working, but NOT RDP?

/Henrik - Denmark
X220 - i7-2620, 8GB, 128GB Samsung 830 SSD (I just LOVE my X220!)
Blue Screen Again
FinnJensen
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-24-2011
Location: Denmark
0

Re: X220 - terminal server problem / 3G / VPN

Henrik - you're perfectly correct.

 

I have found a fellow who had the same problem; however, none of the replies were helpful: LINK.

 

But it tells me that the problem may not have anything to do with the X220 machine...

Punch Card
motomandk
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎05-13-2011
Location: Silkeborg, Denmark
0

Re: X220 - terminal server problem / 3G / VPN

2 questions from the expert:

 

1) Do you have rights to the VPN settings in the consentrator/ASA?

 

2) Are there any difference in the settings depending on the subnet you 'dail-in' from?

/Henrik - Denmark
X220 - i7-2620, 8GB, 128GB Samsung 830 SSD (I just LOVE my X220!)
Blue Screen Again
FinnJensen
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-24-2011
Location: Denmark
0

Re: X220 - terminal server problem / 3G / VPN

1. Yes. We have the server set up locally. But I'm not that skilled in setting such things up.

 

2. I have no idea. I see myself as quite skilled within IT, but as amateur not pro.

Paper Tape
rlethbridge
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2011
Location: Malta
0

Re: X220 - terminal server problem / 3G / VPN

I had this problem too. In my case I was able to connect to cisco vpn but I was not able to ping any of the routers on the other side of the vpn, and hence not able to make a remote desktop connection. This was only for mobile broadband, wifi and LAN were unaffected.

 

Although I don't have the link to hand, there is something in the release notes for the cisco vpn client that refers to the issue with mobile broadband.

 

Can you create a standard dial up connection using the broadband modem, to create a data connection to your WWAN network? You normally have to dial a number like *99# with username and password blank. Then try and connect the cisco vpn. For me this works for a couple of minutes. I think that after this time the mobile broadband chip turns itself off because it doesn't realise that it's needed (some sort of aggressive power management feature). I'm still looking for a work around for that.

Blue Screen Again
FinnJensen
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-24-2011
Location: Denmark
0

Re: X220 - terminal server problem / 3G / VPN

My colleague managed to find a solution. Installing this update did the trick:

 

ftp://files.citrix.com/dneupdate64.msi

 

Best,

Finn

Paper Tape
rlethbridge
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2011
Location: Malta
0

Re: X220 - terminal server problem / 3G / VPN

Thanks, that seems to have done it!