Support in other languages: 
Fanfold Paper
khtse

X61 Speedstep and Fan problems

I have just got my X61 for a few days, some problems immediately concern me.

The first thing I noticed after running it for a few hours was that, the fan never stopped spinning! My machine comes with a Core 2 Duo T7500 2.20Ghz CPU. I have already set "Optimize fan control" to "Balance all parameters" and the fan never stops, even when the machine is in idle with the lowest CPU speed.

I did a search on forum.thinkpads.com and I found that many people have the same problem with their X61 and X61s too. The general solution is to turn to a program called tpfancontrol written by one of the forum members there. The program allows us to override BIOS fan control and set thredshold for when the fan kicks in. It works, but the problem is that even at the lowest fan setting allowed by the program, namely "1" ("0" is off), the fan is spinning at 3207 rpm and that is quite noisy.

I am a graduate student and I spend most of my time in my office (shared with other people) and in the library. The level of fan noise this machine generates will certainly disturb me and my colleages.

The second problem is about speedstep. Since I want to prevent the fan from spinning all the time, the first thing I did was to try to reduce the heat output when I am just serfing around and checking email. I installed the latest version of CPU-Z to monitor my CPU clock. I noticed that setting the CPU speed to "low" and "lowest" have no difference. Both setting clock my CPU speed to around 1596.5 MHz, with a multiplier of 8.0 and Bus speed 199.6 MHz. However, if I set CPU speed to "adaptive", my CPU can be clocked as low as 1197.5MHz, with a multiplier of 6.0 and Bus speed 199.6 MHz when it is in idle. Why can't I lower the multiplier to 6.0 and achieve a clock speed of 1197.5 MHz when I set the speed mode to "low" or "lowest" (and why are the two modes the same?)