Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Punch Card
KGr_ss
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Location: United States
0

Re: x120e Flickering

Huh, super weird.  Did you redownload the AMD Display Drivers from Lenovo's site?

 

Try the 11.2 Catalyst Software Suite from http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-64.aspx (Windows 7 64-bit) or http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-32.aspx (Windows 7 32-bit) and see if that allows you access to Catalyst Control Center.  I installed it over the AMD Display Driver suite from the Lenovo Website http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-76695 .

-----------------------------------------------------------------
For a compilation of most X120e issues:
Compilation of Lenovo X120e issues and solutions
Serial Port
Ruckalaz
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎03-14-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: x120e Flickering

you have to run ccc as administrater (right click on the program, then run as admin) in order to open. same problem happened to me.
Thinkpad X120e w/ AMD E-350, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, HD Display
Thinkpad W530 w/ Core i7 3740QM, Quadro K1000m, 16GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 1080p FHD Display
Ctrl-Alt-Del
destring
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Location: California
0

Re: x120e Flickering

Is it just me or is possible that the cables are not properly sheilded and that my cellphone near the monitor causes the black lines?

802.11n
clicq
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎03-14-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: x120e Flickering

[ Edited ]

I'll add that I'm experiencing the problem as well, though I can't consistently reproduce it. Here's a youtube video showing it occuring:

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eA1O4wz8b20

 

I'm guessing it's drivers and not hardware... at least I hope that's the case!

 

EDIT:

I've tried the following with no changes while the flickering was occuring:

Disabling powerplay -- nope, lines were still occuring

Turning off PCI Express link state power management

 

Retired Employee
JameZ
Posts: 3,110
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Location: Malaysia
0

Re: x120e Flickering

@All,

Am going to raise this issue to engineering for them to investigate on this issue.

Appreciate if you guys could post the following.

OS - Lenovo Preload?
SP1?
BIOS default?
GPU driver - Lenovo default?
Ram used:
Power Manager profile used:
3rd party software installed:

I understand this issue is random however if those have an idea on how they could recreate this constantly, I appreciate if you could share it with me.

As for the bottom part, appreciate if you guys could PM me the following

Name:
Mobile:
Email:
MTM:
S/N:

I would need your info for me to raise this case to engineering.

//JameZ

Check out the Community Knowledge Base for hints and tips.


Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!




W520 | 4176-38U | i7 - 2720QM | Quardo 1000M | 8GB RAM | 60GB OCZ Agility 3

802.11n
clicq
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎03-14-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: x120e Flickering

So I actually did a clean re-install for another problem and so far, I have not yet had the flickering problem. Here's my info about my setup when I did have the problem though:

 

OS - Win 7 x64 Professional SP1, clean install
BIOS default: Yep, no changes
GPU driver: 11.2 driver from AMD's site
Ram used: 2gb of RAM that came with the machine + 4gb of Crucial DDR3-1066
Power Manager profile used: Power manager isn't installed, but I had it set on "Balanced" in windows
3rd party software installed:

 

  • Microsoft Office 2007
  • Microsoft Visio 2010
  • Adobe Acrobat X
  • Media Player Classic
  • Firefox 4
  • IE 9
  • Flash 10.2
  • Altera Quartus II
  • Sumatra PDF
  • 7-zip
  • Microsoft Money Plus
  • Paragon Backup & Recovery
  • SecureW2 client
  • Lyx + Miktex 2.9
@JameZ: Since I haven't experienced the issue yet since the OS reinstall, do you still want my info? 

 

Retired Employee
JameZ
Posts: 3,110
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Location: Malaysia
0

Re: x120e Flickering

@clicq,

Appreciate your revert on this. Since you have done a vanilla installation and did not have the issue again, then its ok. I got a PM from destring on this.

I will use his system info instead.

Thanks
James

Check out the Community Knowledge Base for hints and tips.


Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!




W520 | 4176-38U | i7 - 2720QM | Quardo 1000M | 8GB RAM | 60GB OCZ Agility 3

Serial Port
Ruckalaz
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎03-14-2011
Location: USA
0

SCREEN FLICKERING PROBLEM FIX! for x120e

[ Edited ]

1. download and install catalyst control center from amd if you don't already have it from

http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/downloads.aspx

2. You should see a start menu shortcut for ccc, or catalyst control senter. RIGHT CLICK, THEN RUN AS ADMINISTRATOR.

3. go to power, then disable powerplay.

4. Hooray!

hope this helps :smileyhappy:

Thinkpad X120e w/ AMD E-350, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, HD Display
Thinkpad W530 w/ Core i7 3740QM, Quadro K1000m, 16GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 1080p FHD Display
Lenovo Staff
LANOgre
Posts: 287
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Location: North Carolina, USA
0

Re: SCREEN FLICKERING PROBLEM FIX! for x120e

Just asking, is anyone seeing this issue running the Lenovo preload and Lenovo graphics drivers?

If so, does disabling Powerplay help?

If possible, attach an external display when it happens and see if it happens there as well.

 

From what I've read so far, it appears to come and go.  Anything particular make it happen more often?  Like after suspend/resuming?  Or after running a graphic intensive app?

Blue Screen Again
ldbobby
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-13-2011
Location: California
0

Re: x120e Flickering

[ Edited ]

Alright, as promised... it happened again and I tried the HDMI output. Unfortunately, it looks like the flickering transfers over to the HDMI out and gets even worse. Once I disconnected the HDMI out, the worsened flickering trasferred back to the X120e's display.

 

Video of the flicker transfer to HDMI.

1. Noticed flickering lines

2. Plugged in HDMI out to TV and laptop automatically goes into duplicate mode

3. Flickering lines disappeared from Laptop screen, but major flickering on TV

4. Unplugged HDMI, worsened flickering transfer back to laptop display

5. Put laptop to sleep

6. Wake laptop up, no more flickering...

 

The following is the information on my system (copy and modified from clicq's post):

 

OS - Win 7 x64 Home Premium - Factory installed
BIOS default: Yes
GPU driver: 8.802.4.0 (Factory installed or came through Windows Update.. unsure)
Ram used: 8GB GSkill memory

Hard drive - Intel X25M G2 160GB
Power Manager profile used: Energy Saver (Used at time both of my videos were made)
3rd party software installed:

 

  • Microsoft Office 2010
  • Adobe Acrobat X Standard
  • IE 9
  • Flash 10.2
  • TightVNC
  • CiscoAnyConnect VPN
  • VLC
  • foobar
  • Putty
  • Chrome
JameZ - Let me know if I should PM any further information.