Support in other languages: 
Reply
Paper Tape
pinkthad
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-14-2011
Location: Texas
Accepted Solution

x120e bluescreen when installing lan drivers

I am getting a bluescreen when I try to install the lan drivers posted on the support site for x120e.  For now I just have the device disabled because I can just use wireless, but would like to get this resolved. 

 

I am using win 7 x64 and have upgraded to 8gb of ram.

 

Here is the info from windbg:

 

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
Invalid system memory was referenced.  This cannot be protected by try-except,
it must be protected by a Probe.  Typically the address is just plain bad or it
is pointing at freed memory.
Arguments:
Arg1: fffff6fc40041000, memory referenced.
Arg2: 0000000000000001, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
Arg3: fffff80003432ca3, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
    address.
Arg4: 0000000000000009, (reserved)

Debugging Details:
------------------

Page e1 not present in the dump file. Type ".hh dbgerr004" for details

OVERLAPPED_MODULE: Address regions for 'ndisuio' and 'RtsUStor.sys' overlap

WRITE_ADDRESS:  fffff6fc40041000

FAULTING_IP:
nt!MmMapIoSpace+413
fffff800`03432ca3 498901          mov     qword ptr [r9],rax

MM_INTERNAL_CODE:  9

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50

PROCESS_NAME:  System

CURRENT_IRQL:  0

TRAP_FRAME:  fffff88002fc4c60 -- (.trap 0xfffff88002fc4c60)
NOTE: The trap frame does not contain all registers.
Some register values may be zeroed or incorrect.
rax=000000000020096b rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=0000fffffffff000
rdx=0000000000000000 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000000
rip=fffff80003432ca3 rsp=fffff88002fc4df0 rbp=0000000000001000
 r8=0000000000000200  r9=fffff6fc40041000 r10=000000000000096b
r11=0000000000000000 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
iopl=0         nv up ei ng nz ac po nc
nt!MmMapIoSpace+0x413:
fffff800`03432ca3 498901          mov     qword ptr [r9],rax ds:4d88:1000=????????????????
Resetting default scope

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff80003509c31 to fffff80003489740

STACK_TEXT:  
fffff880`02fc4af8 fffff800`03509c31 : 00000000`00000050 fffff6fc`40041000 00000000`00000001 fffff880`02fc4c60 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
fffff880`02fc4b00 fffff800`0348782e : 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000001 00000014`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x424f9
fffff880`02fc4c60 fffff800`03432ca3 : 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000001 fffff880`00000000 : nt!KiPageFault+0x16e
fffff880`02fc4df0 fffff880`080e11b7 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00007cb1 fffff6fc`40041000 : nt!MmMapIoSpace+0x413
fffff880`02fc4f20 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00007cb1 fffff6fc`40041000 fffffa80`08432530 : Rt64win7+0x4f1b7


STACK_COMMAND:  kb

FOLLOWUP_IP:
Rt64win7+4f1b7
Page e1 not present in the dump file. Type ".hh dbgerr004" for details
Page e1 not present in the dump file. Type ".hh dbgerr004" for details
fffff880`080e11b7 ??              ???

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  4

SYMBOL_NAME:  Rt64win7+4f1b7

FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: Rt64win7

IMAGE_NAME:  Rt64win7.sys

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  0

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_Rt64win7+4f1b7

BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_Rt64win7+4f1b7

Followup: MachineOwner

goretsky
Posts: 1,786
Topics: 18
Kudos: 326
Solutions: 119
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: California, USA
0

Re: x120e bluescreen when installing lan drivers

Hello,

 

If you replace your original memory are you then able to install the network drivers without error?

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee. • Dexter is a good dog • Dexter je dobrý pes
S230u (3347-4HU)X220 (4286-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)T61p (6459-CTO)T43p (2678-H7U)T42 (2378-R4U)T23 (2648-LU7)
de.gif  Deutsche Community es.gif  Comunidad en Español
Paper Tape
pinkthad
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-14-2011
Location: Texas
0

Re: x120e bluescreen when installing lan drivers

 


goretsky wrote:

Hello,

 

If you replace your original memory are you then able to install the network drivers without error?

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 


 

Hi Aryeh,

 

Thanks for the suggestion, but switching back to the original 2GB does not appear to make a difference.  I am however able to use a generic driver provided by windows after the following steps:

 

1. Installed the lenovo driver and it bluescreened.

2. After rebooting, installed the lenovo driver again, didn't bluescreen this time but in device manager it shows that the driver failed to load (error code 31).

3.  Uninstall the lenovo driver.

4.  Reboot and the generic windows driver gets installed.

 

To add a little more information, I was attempting to install the driver (7.26.902.2010) located at http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-76363.html

 

Anyone else having this issue?

Punch Card
debacler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: x120e bluescreen when installing lan drivers

Yeah, this happened to me too. Did a clean install of Win 7 x64 home prem sp1. Built in / windows update nic drivers worked fine. Updated version from the support site gave a bsod. Also, the 2x2 wireless driver installs, but gives a code 10 in dev manager. Driver install order did not seem to make a difference - I formatted and tried installing only the network drivers with the same results. Clearly a software issue as the devices work fine using the factory image.

 

It took all of 2 hours to run up against these problems, the glitchy audio from the power manager, and the flickering backlight at low brightness. That's some great QA there.

802.11n
clicq
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎03-14-2011
Location: USA

Re: x120e bluescreen when installing lan drivers

 


pinkthad wrote:

 


goretsky wrote:

Hello,

 

If you replace your original memory are you then able to install the network drivers without error?

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 


 

Hi Aryeh,

 

Thanks for the suggestion, but switching back to the original 2GB does not appear to make a difference.  I am however able to use a generic driver provided by windows after the following steps:

 

1. Installed the lenovo driver and it bluescreened.

2. After rebooting, installed the lenovo driver again, didn't bluescreen this time but in device manager it shows that the driver failed to load (error code 31).

3.  Uninstall the lenovo driver.

4.  Reboot and the generic windows driver gets installed.

 

To add a little more information, I was attempting to install the driver (7.26.902.2010) located at http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-76363.html

 

Anyone else having this issue?


I had the same problem with the Lenovo network driver -- I just installed the driver from Realtek instead: http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=13&PFid=5&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTy...

 

Paper Tape
pinkthad
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-14-2011
Location: Texas
0

Re: x120e bluescreen when installing lan drivers

 


clicq wrote:

 


pinkthad wrote:

 


goretsky wrote:

Hello,

 

If you replace your original memory are you then able to install the network drivers without error?

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 


 

Hi Aryeh,

 

Thanks for the suggestion, but switching back to the original 2GB does not appear to make a difference.  I am however able to use a generic driver provided by windows after the following steps:

 

1. Installed the lenovo driver and it bluescreened.

2. After rebooting, installed the lenovo driver again, didn't bluescreen this time but in device manager it shows that the driver failed to load (error code 31).

3.  Uninstall the lenovo driver.

4.  Reboot and the generic windows driver gets installed.

 

To add a little more information, I was attempting to install the driver (7.26.902.2010) located at http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-76363.html

 

Anyone else having this issue?


I had the same problem with the Lenovo network driver -- I just installed the driver from Realtek instead: http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=13&PFid=5&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTy...

 


That worked for me, Thanks!

 

Retired Employee
JameZ
Posts: 3,110
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Location: Malaysia

Re: x120e bluescreen when installing lan drivers

@clicq,

Appreciate if you could PM me the following information so I may raise this to engineering for them to investigate.

Name:
Mobile:
Email:
MTM:
S/N:
Date of Purchase:

//JameZ

Check out the Community Knowledge Base for hints and tips.


Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!




W520 | 4176-38U | i7 - 2720QM | Quardo 1000M | 8GB RAM | 60GB OCZ Agility 3

Mark_Lenovo
Posts: 7,657
Topics: 408
Kudos: 1,276
Solutions: 275
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
Location: RTP, North Carolina
0

Re: x120e bluescreen when installing lan drivers

pinkthad,

 

Kudos for sharing your problem and for explaining it in such a complete and detailed manner.

 

We will definitely check out the version of driver on the support site.  If you can share some of your other info via private message to James, that will be helpful as we try to test for this.

 

Thanks!

 

Mark

____________________________________________

ThinkPads: S30, T43, X60t, X1, W700ds, IdeaPad Y710, IdeaCentre: A300, IdeaPad K1
Mark Hopkins
Program Manager, Lenovo Social Media (Services)
www.twitter.com/lenovoforums
www.facebook.com/lenovo

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

Blue Screen Again
lapoltba
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-14-2011
Location: NY, USA
0

Re: x120e bluescreen when installing lan drivers

FYI

 I had the same issue on a fresh install of W7 x64 on my x120e.  Issues only occured when trying to insall the driver from lenovo.  When I downloaded directly fron Realtek there wer zero issues and no BSODs.

 

Thanks Guys/Gals

Retired Employee
JameZ
Posts: 3,110
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Location: Malaysia
0

Re: x120e bluescreen when installing lan drivers

@All,

This thread has been unmarked as solution.

Issue has been escalated to engineering.

//JameZ

Check out the Community Knowledge Base for hints and tips.


Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!




W520 | 4176-38U | i7 - 2720QM | Quardo 1000M | 8GB RAM | 60GB OCZ Agility 3