Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Token Ring
vicentiu
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Location: Romania
0
Accepted Solution

x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

[ Edited ]

I installed a MyDigitalSSD 256GB Smart Series SATA III but I only seem to be getting SATA 2 speeds.

Lenovo sales rep said that the x230 is SATA 3 for the mSATA slot, and CrystalDiskInfo seems to confirm this as it reports Transfer Mode as SATA/600, though HD Tune reports it as SATA 2.

 Here are the results I get:

Link to image 1

 

while benchmarks from reviews look like this:

 

Link to image 2

 

I checked that the BIOS is set to AHCI.

 

Any other ideas what might be happening?

 

thanks

 

Vicentiu

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/forums/postpage/board-id/X_Series_Thinkpads

 

Moderator note: images larger than 50k converted to links per forum rules:   Lenovo Community Participation Rules

Lenovo Staff
someotherguy
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

The mSATA slot is SATA2.

Token Ring
vicentiu
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Location: Romania
0

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

Thanks for clarifying...

 

So, should I not trust sales reps to give accurate answers to technical questions? 

Lenovo Staff
someotherguy
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
0

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

It does seem like you were misled.  I'm very sorry about that.  May I please ask where you got the wrong info?  If a particular person within Lenovo gave it to you, please send me that info by private message.

Token Ring
vicentiu
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Location: Romania
0

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

Mmmm.... how do I send you a private message? I looked around, but didn't see anything.

Token Ring
vicentiu
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Location: Romania
0

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

found it.

Punch Card
s1148625
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-27-2011
Location: West Lafayette, IN
0

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds

I also received incorrect information, but I was able to track down the right information before I placed the order. The three reps I talked to all confirmed SATA 3 on the mSATA ports. The problem? They don't know the difference between SATA 3 and SATA at 300mbps (which is SATA 2).

nibs
Posts: 879
Topics: 43
Kudos: 143
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: Portland, OR
0

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds


vicentiu wrote:

Thanks for clarifying...

 

So, should I not trust sales reps to give accurate answers to technical questions? 


In my experience you should trust information in this order:

  • Lenovo Fourms
  • PSRF ("Tabook")
  • Data sheets on Lenovo Website (Do not trust if product has not been out for > 3 months)
  • Lenovo Ordering Page (Do not trust if product has not been out for >3 months)
  • Lenovo Sales Reps 

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.

My TPs: Twist 2HU: i5-3317U Win 8 Pro, 4GB RAM 250GB Samsung 840 | T420 4177CTO: i5-2520M, HD+, Win 7 Pro x64, 8GB RAM, Optimus, 160GB Intel 320 SSD, Intel 6300 WiFi, BT 3.0 | T400 2764CTO: P8700, WXGA, Win 7 Ult x64, AMD 3470, 8GB RAM, 64GB Samsung SSD, BT, Intel 5300 WiFi | A20m 14.1" PIII 500 (retired). Monitors: 2x Dell U2211h IPS 100% sRGB calibrated w/ Spyder3.
Community Moderator
zoltanthegypsy
Posts: 3,423
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA, USA
0

Re: x230 mSATA working at SATA 2 speeds