Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveMoto Blur PhonesBRAVO™ with MOTOBLUR™
All Forum Topics
Options

10 Posts

12-08-2010

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2010
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 1 of 9

How can I add a custom notification tone to my Motorola Bravo?

2011-04-15, 0:02 AM

I have some very short (4 sec) sounds that I'd like to use as my notification tone. I was able to add a custom ringtone for incoming calls, but can't figure out how to do it for the notificaiton tones, like for incoming texts, etc.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Mel

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

2733 Posts

03-08-2010

United States

1 Signins

4 Page Views

  • Posts: 2733
  • Registered: ‎03-08-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 4
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: How can I add a custom notification tone to my Motorola Bravo?

2011-04-15, 6:39 AM

On the SD card, create a folder /media/audio and inside create separate folders named alarms, notifications and ringtones. Once you move your files into those, they will appear in your menu.

So for notifications, you need to place your files into

/media/audio/notifications

Sometimes just placing it into /notifications folder on the SD card will work as well.

Let us know if it works

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

10 Posts

12-08-2010

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2010
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: How can I add a custom notification tone to my Motorola Bravo?

2011-04-15, 15:49 PM

Thanks, that worked. Actually, there’s another way to attack this problem – it just took me awhile to remember it.

I had figured out how to add a custom mp3 file as a ringtone sometime earlier (I make my own with Roxio Easy Media Creator), but had forgotten that there was a notification tone option there, too. I went into the Music app, chose the mp3 file that I wanted to use, hit the Pause button, hit the Menu button, and hit More+. There, I had the choice of Use as ringtone or Use as notification. In some ways, this seems like an easier work-around.

One sticky point: I access my Bravo via USB connection with my Windows 7 PC at work. When I pull up the SD card in Windows Explorer, I can’t generate a prompt to add a new folder - there isn't one available on screen and right-clicking wont' do. I created new files by copying and pasting an existing folder and making changes to the name and contents, but it was cumbersome.

All in all, I really do like this phone. I’ve had it since Nov ’10 and I’m constantly figuring out new things to do with it.

Thanks again for your help. Hopefully, this might help someone else, too!

Ciao,

Melinda Simpson

Louisville KY

Reply
Options

10 Posts

04-11-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎04-11-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: How can I add a custom notification tone to my Motorola Bravo?

2011-04-23, 2:53 AM

I got the ringtones to show up, but had no luck with the notification tones using either method. Any thoughts what might be wrong?

Thanks,

David

Reply
Options

2733 Posts

03-08-2010

United States

1 Signins

4 Page Views

  • Posts: 2733
  • Registered: ‎03-08-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 4
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: How can I add a custom notification tone to my Motorola Bravo?

2011-04-23, 16:08 PM

@Melinda,

Really glad I was able to help!

@David,

What kind of files are you trying to put in those folders?

Reply
Options

10 Posts

04-11-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎04-11-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: How can I add a custom notification tone to my Motorola Bravo?

2011-04-23, 17:39 PM

I'm using MP3 files for both ringtones and notification tones.

Reply
Options

10 Posts

04-11-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎04-11-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: How can I add a custom notification tone to my Motorola Bravo?

2011-04-24, 21:55 PM

I had just upgraded to 2.2.1 and had a couple of other small things that didn't seem right, so I decided to do a factory reset. Now both ringtones and notification tones show up.

Thanks for the help.

David

Reply
Options

39 Posts

10-12-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 39
  • Registered: ‎10-12-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: How can I add a custom notification tone to my Motorola Bravo?

2012-10-19, 21:31 PM


Hi thanks all this helped me out on my CLIQ2 i did the instructions here and wala it showed up in my ring tones section thanks for posting thsi event hough it wasnt for my phone it worked like a charm :).

Reply
Options

1 Posts

11-12-2012

United States

3 Signins

33 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 33
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: How can I add a custom notification tone to my Motorola Bravo?

2012-11-14, 1:35 AM


Melinda!  Thank you so much.  Was trying to figure out getting a ringtone from SD card from old phone to Bravo.  Your solution was perfect.  Was trying to rename the folder to "ringtones", as I read someplace that would work.  But have a heck of a time with file management and just about gave up.  Menu key saved the day.  Thanks again!



 



by the way,  how do you create, edite, rename files on the SD card?  I don't see any PC file management options using Moto Media.  Tried using Explorer and Firefox, but got blocked responses when clicking on file management.  Thanks in advance.  Steve



 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete