Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveMoto Blur PhonesBRAVO™ with MOTOBLUR™
All Forum Topics
Options

10 Posts

05-22-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎05-22-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 1 of 11

my bravo freezes continuously when i open google maps(v 5.6.0)

2011-06-27, 15:22 PM

whenever i want to find a location through the google maps app, my phone starts behaving abnormally...it freezes, the screen rotates, it doesnt work for a few minutes...it was fine when the firmware version was 2.1...but after updating it to android 2.2 the problem started......i have to take out my battery and switch it on again for the phone to function normally.......it says the application maps has stopped unexpectedly...this is annoying me alot...did anyone of u experience d same problem?????

Reply
Options

104 Posts

11-20-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 104
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: my bravo freezes continuously when i open google maps(v 5.6.0)

2011-06-27, 15:49 PM

gkowshik wrote:

whenever i want to find a location through the google maps app, my phone starts behaving abnormally...it freezes, the screen rotates, it doesnt work for a few minutes...it was fine when the firmware version was 2.1...but after updating it to android 2.2 the problem started......i have to take out my battery and switch it on again for the phone to function normally.......it says the application maps has stopped unexpectedly...this is annoying me alot...did anyone of u experience d same problem?????

I have noticed that since the last map app update (5.6.0) I have to wait longer for the app to populate information otherwise it seems to hang. I just set the phone down and wait for it. The app does seem to respond better if the GPS is on but watch your battery level.  If you switch to task manager you can't even stop it there while it is processing yet you can kill other apps. It is not the phone from what I can tell. I also try not to touch the screen for long in any one spot because the app will do an address lookup. Seems to be really sensitive. You might try settings -applications - manmage application - maps - force close if it really has a problem. Still better than paying a fee every month to AT&T for their navigator.

I think I may do some research on the map update to see what was added. I can't remember what was done.

Shackcf

Reply
Options

10 Posts

05-22-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎05-22-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: my bravo freezes continuously when i open google maps(v 5.6.0)

2011-06-27, 17:29 PM

i cant goto any other screen.....it just freezes.....the 3 buttons at the bottom doesnt work either..........the only way possible for me to get my phone back to normal state is to restart it....y does this happen regularly???

Reply
Options

6 Posts

04-26-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎04-26-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: my bravo freezes continuously when i open google maps(v 5.6.0)

2011-06-30, 20:28 PM

Yep, been happening to me to since the lasst couple map updates.  Freezes and need to pull the battery.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

02-06-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎02-06-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: my bravo freezes continuously when i open google maps(v 5.6.0)

2011-07-29, 23:18 PM

same here...it freezes up....ugh

Reply
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

US

5841 Signins

132765 Page Views

  • Posts: 28352
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 132765
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: my bravo freezes continuously when i open google maps(v 5.6.0)

2011-07-30, 0:41 AM

you can try going into manage applications and clearing data and clearing cache for the maps app.


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Reply
Options

104 Posts

11-20-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 104
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: my bravo freezes continuously when i open google maps(v 5.6.0)

2011-07-31, 22:36 PM

OK I just updated a few days ago to 5.8 and just as in 5.6 it took a long time to load and then the delays responding to the bottom 3 keys was minutes. I just decide to uninstall the updates and rolled back to original version 5.00. Works just fine although some of the newer features do not exist it does not lock up the phone. Time to do some research on the updates. I still have yet to do that.

Shackcf

Reply
Options

132 Posts

01-14-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 132
  • Registered: ‎01-14-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: my bravo freezes continuously when i open google maps(v 5.6.0)

2011-08-01, 3:04 AM

Sounds like there may be some compatability issues between some versions of GoogleMaps and OS 2.2 (go figure). Let us know what you find out shackcf.

Reply
Options

104 Posts

11-20-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 104
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: my bravo freezes continuously when i open google maps(v 5.6.0)

2011-08-01, 15:37 PM

FYI,

In a quick scan of google mobile android forum for maps, there are quite a few people having problems with the 5.6 and 5.8 app freezing or the navigation tools stopping etc. It would seem that the newer the device (less than 3 months) the less issues. I have posted a question to the help forum to find out if previous versions say 5.4 are available. I do have my doubts over this availability. I have set up an RSS feed for my question.

I may try a reload of 5.8 since I have made a change to my auto-end apps (removed all apps) after a discussion with rawmeans143 and Alphadog over random phone restarts. Push comes to shove I will stick with the orginal version 5.00

I will update ASAP

Reply
Options

104 Posts

11-20-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 104
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 10 of 11

Re: my bravo freezes continuously when i open google maps(v 5.6.0)

2011-08-01, 23:53 PM

FYI,

I just reloaded v 5.8 on the Bravo and it popped right up and ran great, even Navigation. I think I can point to 2 items here

  1. the uninstall of upgrades that brought the phone back to original 5.00 ver. and
  2. the clearing out of the app auto-end list.

Running services was showing still 62 MB + 53 MB in 15 available. I have to thank Alphadog again for setting me straight on the memory management available in the OS. Still want to stop some apps from starting but that is another day.

So why not uninstall the updates and try a roll back to 5.00, restart your Bravo make sure maps works and then install the 5.8 update. There maybe some residual pieces from other updates that were removed with this process. I am going to post this on the Google mobile forum as well.

I have an unlimited data plan so for those newer plans you may want to use your PC or Wireless it is a 6+ meg download.

Shackcf

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete