Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveMoto Blur PhonesCLIQ™ with MOTOBLUR™
All Forum Topics
Options

19 Posts

10-28-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎10-28-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 1 of 67

Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-11, 20:04 PM
How does one setup the phone to be used as a wireless access point? Is it through wifi, bluetooth, usb? Does anyone have a guide on using a laptop with the phone acting as a modem?
Reply
Options

4283 Posts

12-10-2006

United States

100 Signins

922 Page Views

  • Posts: 4283
  • Registered: ‎12-10-2006
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 922
  • Message 2 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-11, 20:55 PM

i am unaware of T-Mobile's rules on this subject.

do they allow tethering of your phone?

Reply
Options

394 Posts

11-06-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 394
  • Registered: ‎11-06-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 3 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-11, 21:00 PM

Look at the Cyanogen Mod, it supports teathering over USB.

I haven't tried it on the CLIQ.

Reply
Options

19 Posts

10-28-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎10-28-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 4 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-11, 21:08 PM
I don't know what the policy is either. I'm just asking if it can be technically done. I've read some posts where Tmo allows tethering on Edge connections but not 3G. I am sure they are concerned about customers abusing their bandwidth by using the 3G network for bandwidth hog applicaitons and downloads. That is not how I need to use my connection and any restrictions would be a big problem for me because I travel a fair amount and rely on my (formerly edge) connection to get me by when I don't have other connections available. Does anyone know how this can be done?
Reply
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

US

5841 Signins

132765 Page Views

  • Posts: 28352
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 132765
  • Message 5 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-11, 21:19 PM

Technically it can be done. There were apps in the android market but google pulled them. There are other tethering apps available online, but if your carrier doesn't allow it they could disconnect you for violation of terms of service.


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Reply
Options

19 Posts

10-28-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎10-28-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 6 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-11, 21:22 PM
Thanks for the Cyanogen suggestion, but I'm really not up to updating the ROM yet. This phone is only two weeks old and I just can't risk the possibility of bricking it. I am hoping for an Android app or something to allow my laptop to connect to the internet through the Cliq. Surely someone out there is looking for the same thing...
Reply
Options

394 Posts

11-06-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 394
  • Registered: ‎11-06-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 7 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-11, 22:59 PM

Other than bandwidth consumed and potentially traffic analysis, I really don't see how the carrier could tell that you're tethering.

Using up lots of bandwidth is about the only clue.

Reply
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

US

5841 Signins

132765 Page Views

  • Posts: 28352
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 132765
  • Message 8 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-11, 23:04 PM
I agree, they could look at the browser header, but the cliq lets you inpersonate that. So they would have no real way of knowing, unless the apps are including something that is not part of the standard TCP/IP headers. I doubt it though, to many apps that use basic internet connectivity.

* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Reply
Options

19 Posts

10-28-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎10-28-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 9 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-12, 0:06 AM
From what I've found out, the carriers all have different policies on whether tethering is permissible. For the Cliq, one option is PDANet from junefabrics.com. Their latest version 2.11 installs clients on both the laptop and the Cliq that allows the laptop to connect to the internet using the phone's 3G connection. It is pay software ($29) but is a viable option.
Reply
Options

394 Posts

11-06-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 394
  • Registered: ‎11-06-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 10 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-12, 0:29 AM

tj54 - PDANet looks very interesting! The USB tethering option is only for Windows, but with Android 2.0 it supports Bluetooth DUN (OS independent).

Thanks!

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete