Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveMoto Blur PhonesCLIQ™ with MOTOBLUR™
All Forum Topics
Options

19 Posts

10-28-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎10-28-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 31 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-13, 20:46 PM
Right, I set it up in it's most basic configuration. Windows 7 (is there anything else? ) laptop via USB to phone. Having a wifi or bluetooth connection is cooler but the USB is probably the most practical. I'll bet the handset battery would discharge in a few hours with the wifi and the 3G radios going full blast.
Reply
Options

51 Posts

10-31-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 51
  • Registered: ‎10-31-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 32 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-11-15, 6:43 AM
PDANet was easy to set-up and works great with the Cliq. I need full internet mobile computer access maybe a couple of times per month, so getting a separate aircard and rate plan are not worth it to me. Also, I wouldn't use tethering for downloading large media files or streaming shows as that might alert the bandwith patrol. Also, PDANet is free for Http use. If you need email or other access, then you need the license but even so, the price is right and it's worth every penny.
Reply
Options

100 Posts

12-14-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 100
  • Registered: ‎12-14-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 33 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-12-16, 18:50 PM

tmobile doesnt support it, that sucks.... why pay for an unlimited data plan and cant use it any way we want? I guess computers use more bandwidth than phones... go figure lol         

Reply
Options

4211 Posts

02-25-2016

US

2146 Signins

35065 Page Views

  • Posts: 4211
  • Registered: ‎02-25-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 35065
  • Message 34 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-12-16, 18:53 PM
most carriers have a little clause in the Terms of Service that states that the data plan only covers data use on the device. Tethering is more of through the device, and a laptop can use a lot more bandwidth
*the search bar is your friend*
-This is a peer to peer support forum, MOTOXPRTs are volunteers, not Motorola employees
Reply
Options

451 Posts

11-05-2009

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 451
  • Registered: ‎11-05-2009
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 35 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2009-12-16, 19:14 PM

Just because TMO does not support it does not mean it cannot be done! Haha

Reply
Options

1 Posts

05-04-2010

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎05-04-2010
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 36 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2010-05-04, 23:26 PM
As a T-Mobile representative, I can assure you, T-Mobile does allow tethering ($10 add-on feature), and the Motorola Cliq can be tethered. Thank you.
Reply
Options

394 Posts

11-06-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 394
  • Registered: ‎11-06-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 37 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2010-05-05, 0:05 AM

Really? So what do I ask for?

And what does $10 get me? Do they provide any software? Because the stock CLIQ does not provide a way to tether.

Reply
Options

109 Posts

01-21-2010

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 109
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2010
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 38 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2010-05-05, 3:25 AM
Check out Easy Tether lite on the market.
Reply
Options

394 Posts

11-06-2009

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 394
  • Registered: ‎11-06-2009
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 39 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2010-05-05, 14:05 PM

That's just what I thought. T-Mobile doesn't offer anything for tethering, and there is no point in even talking to them about it.

All solutions are 3rd party.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

05-07-2010

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎05-07-2010
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 40 of 67

Re: Using the Cliq as a modem

2010-05-07, 8:13 AM
I talked to tmo yesturday (for like an hour) and they said tethering was fine, i told them i also use wifi tethering out and about. Not to say this means its ok, it could be written somewhere you shouldnt but support and technical support could care less. they didnt say  anything about it being a breach of contract to use tethering nor did they warn me ..they actually asked me how well it works.Their support is pretty cool.  I also had to tell them my phone had a custom rom installed,  because they were trying to send me a update to fix an issuei was having w/ 3G,  I told them i shouldnt install updates, it might brick my phone, technical support said if i did (and this guy fully understood what i ment by modded)they would eat it and send me a new phone and not to worry about it...update however did not brick my phone and alls well ends well..
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete