cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Shout-Out: XBrav
Lenovo Staff

shoutout.JPG

Tell us a bit about yourself

My name is Bryan, aka XBrav on the forums. By trade, I am an Automation Technician dealing with various control systems in the Oil and Gas Industry. Outside of the work realm, I am a tech enthusiast with a passion for electronic design and 3D printing. Surprisingly, my Lenovo Forum experience has spanned further than my work experience, and has influenced a lot of my career choices.

Prior to selecting a career in industrial automation, I was a hobbyist IT worker. I would purchase used computers and combine the parts to make a "powerhouse" (to me, that is) that trumped any laptop you could buy. I vaguely recall one of my first builds being an old Pentium II box build. I then proceeded to spray paint the case neon orange. It was such an eyesore. But it taught me the basics of PC building.

It was this passion that led me originally to acquire a CompTIA certification. Although my career didn't pan out in IT, it did lead me to learn more about electronics and automation. After several years, I discovered my passion was in turning code into functioning, moving objects. This has recently resulted in a new passion for 3D printing. Although I mainly focus on the embedded projects these days, I still keep my passion of IT alive, even with the technology constantly changing.

How did you come across the Lenovo Forums?