Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveDROID 3 by Motorola
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

02-16-2011

Lee's Summit, MO

1 Signins

2 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎02-16-2011
  • Location: Lee's Summit, MO
  • Views: 2
  • Message 1 of 10

Mount/Unmount issues when configuring Corporate sync

2011-10-19, 18:03 PM

I was wondering if anyone has ever seen or had this happen to them with the D3.  I have 4 D3's and it has happened to every last one of them when I configure the Corporate Sync for email it dismounts the memory and will not allow you to remount the memory.  I have taken the phones back to factory and then everything looks fine, I can mount and dismount the memory card with no problem.  I can save things to the card but as soon as I configure the email it dismounts the memory and cannot be remounted.  Is this a new feature for the D3?  Any ideas or suggestions are very welcomed. 

Reply
Answer
Options

393 Posts

07-14-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 393
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0

Re: Mount/Unmount issues when configuring Corporate sync

2011-10-19, 20:00 PM

It sounds to me like there is a corp. security policy taking effect on the memory card.  Does the corp require encripted memory?  There is a setting to encrypt the sd card...

Reply

Replies(9)
Answer
Options

393 Posts

07-14-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 393
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 2 of 10

Re: Mount/Unmount issues when configuring Corporate sync

2011-10-19, 20:00 PM

It sounds to me like there is a corp. security policy taking effect on the memory card.  Does the corp require encripted memory?  There is a setting to encrypt the sd card...

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

8 Posts

09-27-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎09-27-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 3 of 10

Re: Mount/Unmount issues when configuring Corporate sync

2011-10-19, 23:03 PM

I have Corporate Sync on my D3 and no problems with external SD card.

Mine sync's OTA with either wireless or 3G.

I agree with the 1st post that it's probably a server side security issue.

Reply
Options

23 Posts

03-06-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 23
  • Registered: ‎03-06-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 4 of 10

Re: Mount/Unmount issues when configuring Corporate sync

2011-10-20, 2:35 AM

No problems with mine sync with corporate email.

Reply
Options

5 Posts

02-16-2011

Lee's Summit, MO

1 Signins

2 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎02-16-2011
  • Location: Lee's Summit, MO
  • Views: 2
  • Message 5 of 10

Re: Mount/Unmount issues when configuring Corporate sync

2011-10-20, 14:42 PM

I spoke with my exchange administrator and he said that we did not have a corp security policy in place that would take hold of the memory card like that nor does it require memory encription.  I was hoping that would be a solution to this issue.  I logged into our exchange server to look around and see if I could identify anything out of the ordinary but not being a exchange admin, everything looked normal.  As a test I configured the phone with another user just to rule out possible profile configuration and it did the exact same thing, unmounted the memory.  I'm at a total loss, but I do thank you for your suggestion.  If anyone has any other suggestions please let me know.  Thanks again.

Reply
Options

393 Posts

07-14-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 393
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 6 of 10

Re: Mount/Unmount issues when configuring Corporate sync

2011-10-20, 14:45 PM

Good luck, that was the best guess I had.  I've got my phone tied to 2 different exchange accounts and don't have any issues (other than gripes with some of the enforced security measures)

Reply
Options

5 Posts

02-16-2011

Lee's Summit, MO

1 Signins

2 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎02-16-2011
  • Location: Lee's Summit, MO
  • Views: 2
  • Message 7 of 10

Re: Mount/Unmount issues when configuring Corporate sync

2011-10-20, 15:01 PM

Thanks for your help.  I'm on the phone with Motorola now trying to find a solution.  If we find something I will post the fix if anyone comes across this issue in the future.

Reply
Options

164 Posts

07-23-2010

Brazil

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 164
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2010
  • Location: Brazil
  • Views: 0
  • Message 8 of 10

Re: Mount/Unmount issues when configuring Corporate sync

2011-10-20, 19:08 PM

@jningram, looks like you have admin privileges to the exchange server.  Any chance you can create a test account so I can forward to my engineering team for them to run tests?

Reply
Options

5 Posts

02-16-2011

Lee's Summit, MO

1 Signins

2 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎02-16-2011
  • Location: Lee's Summit, MO
  • Views: 2
  • Message 9 of 10

Re: Mount/Unmount issues when configuring Corporate sync

2011-10-20, 20:36 PM

You guys are awsome.  Thanks to your suggestions you pointed me in the right direction.  I went back to my exchange admin and we located the setting in the Exchange Management Console under the Client Access, Default Properties we had "Allow removable storage" unchecked.  After putting a check in the box and applying the changes all I had to do was reboot the phone for the changes to take place and now I am able to mount and unmount the memory, take photo's, etc... and save everything to them memory cards.  Thanks again guys for all your help. 

Exchange_Policy_Change_Screenshot.PNG

Reply
Options

20124 Posts

02-03-2016

United States of America

2587 Signins

65223 Page Views

  • Posts: 20124
  • Registered: ‎02-03-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 65223
  • Message 10 of 10

Re: Mount/Unmount issues when configuring Corporate sync

2011-10-28, 14:33 PM

Please do not PM me - if you have issues, search the forums for threads on your topic and post there, or start a new thread. Thanks!
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms