Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Droid PhonesDROID RAZR and DROID RAZR MAXX by Motorola
All Forum Topics
Options

32 Posts

07-02-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 32
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 111 of 130

Re: SEARCHING FOR GPS IN NAVIGATION

2012-08-24, 2:44 AM
I went to the my apps on play and stopped the auto download and then only allowed the pre installed apps to update then checked it, and then went and uninstalled updates and disabled all the bloat I wanted disabled which was most of it and checked it again and I was still golden. During the last 2 weeks I have reinstalled nearly all of the apps I had on before and it still works perfectly.
Reply
Options

12372 Posts

02-02-2016

United States of America

2935 Signins

20947 Page Views

  • Posts: 12372
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 20947
  • Message 112 of 130

Re: SEARCHING FOR GPS IN NAVIGATION

2012-08-24, 3:00 AM
@Mose, an FDR via the menu does not wipe the cache, but an FDR via the external keys method does. Nonetheless, if I were going to do an FDR, I'd wipe the cache at least a couple of times anyway. Some knowledgeable people on this board believe that, to solve a problem wiping the cache 3 times is good.
Reply
Options

260 Posts

03-01-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 260
  • Registered: ‎03-01-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 113 of 130

Re: SEARCHING FOR GPS IN NAVIGATION

2012-08-24, 4:16 AM
Used to hear that triple wipe of data and cache back in the days of custom ROMs on my Droid 1. I would think it's left over from that, there were some who disputed the need for formatting a partition more than once, but it has stuck with many. Not sure if it hurts anything so...
Reply
Options

1 Posts

09-07-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎09-07-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 114 of 130

Re: SEARCHING FOR GPS IN NAVIGATION

2012-09-07, 16:32 PM

Wiping the cache (once) seemed to do the trick for me.  Thanks for the instructions on how to do it.


Multiple wiping wont hurt.  I had read that storage devices (Hard Drives specifically, but may be relavant to memeory as well) build up a 'memory' of the data they hold for a long time, and the multiple wipes were needed to alter that 'memory'.  (I.E. It would set every bit to ZERO, but some bits were a weaker zero than others, because they had been a ONE for so long.  If too weak, it could be mistaken for a one anyway.)

Reply
Options

70 Posts

06-25-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 70
  • Registered: ‎06-25-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 115 of 130

Re: SEARCHING FOR GPS IN NAVIGATION

2012-09-14, 19:17 PM


My Dad's RAZR Maxx has this problem too. The few friends I have with RAZRs are having GPS problems as well. I'm hoping they issue a patch to fix this and don't just forget about it and move on to the new RAZR M and HD. I used the "GPS Test" which was free from the Play store. after using it I'm getting a pretty quick fix for some reason. Turn by turn navigation has operated smoothly for the past few hours at least.

Reply
Options

40 Posts

07-31-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 116 of 130

Re: SEARCHING FOR GPS IN NAVIGATION

2012-09-15, 17:11 PM


Thanks, I will try the GPS test app as well.    I have tried everything else and it will sometimes work great for a day or two and then quit working.  When that happens I will generally wipe the cache and run GPS DR.   That will get me back to a 15 second to 60 second period for location to be set.  Then it slowly starts to get worse and worse until it is time to start the process again.

Reply
Options

70 Posts

06-25-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 70
  • Registered: ‎06-25-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 117 of 130

Re: SEARCHING FOR GPS IN NAVIGATION

2012-09-16, 22:37 PM


I'm pretty sure the GPS test result for me was a fluke. I ended up doing a FDR last nigth and so far today GPS has functioned well. Clearing the cache never did much for me and didn't help at all with the GPS issue.

Reply
Options

35 Posts

06-11-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎06-11-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 118 of 130

Re: SEARCHING FOR GPS IN NAVIGATION

2012-09-18, 1:35 AM


I am having the same issue with my Razr Maxx and it is more then just Maps/ Navigation. I am experiencing the problem with any app that uses GPS. My biggest problem is with Nike + Running, it takes 5 to 10 mins to lock on a signal in a open area outside. I have tried to reboot in to safe mode and that didn't fix the problem and now am about to try download GPS Doctor and see if that will fix the problem.

Reply
Options

70 Posts

06-25-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 70
  • Registered: ‎06-25-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 119 of 130

Re: SEARCHING FOR GPS IN NAVIGATION

2012-09-18, 1:45 AM
The factory reset just reduced the rate of failure for me. I still have to wait long periods for a GPS fix though I can occasionally get one immediately.
Reply
Options

16 Posts

05-31-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎05-31-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 120 of 130

Re: SEARCHING FOR GPS IN NAVIGATION

2012-09-18, 12:16 PM


First post on this issue was July 28.  Almost two months later no fix.  I guess Google/Motorola just consider this a trivial-low priority bug.  It is too bad because Navigaion was one of the cool features I liked to demonstrate and use on my phone.  If I was traveling and needed to find a grocery store I would just Voice Command - "Navigate to grocery store," a list of nearby stores would pop up, I'd pick one and the Navigation app would start right up. 



Now navigation is a piece of crap.  Even if I know the address of my destination and enter it I must drive for the first few minutes before Navigation kicks in.  At times I have driven the first few minutes in the wrong direction. 



I don't demonstrate Navigation with my phone  to my friends any more.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All