cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
cybertj_2000
SCSI Port
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Location: US
Views: 2,745
Message 1 of 15

Unfortunately badger had stopped working

I have the Droid Maxx and a few days ago, whenever I reboot my phone, it gives me a message that says "Unfortunately badger had stopped working".

Some have said that this is the program that displays counts for emails and texts. These counts have disappeared from my phone so I'm guessing they are right.

How do I fix this? Anyone else having this issue? Any help appreciated!!!
Sent from a Moto Z2 Force Edition and authored by its Human!!!
djousma_oldacct
What's DOS?
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Location: United States
Views: 2,720
Message 2 of 15

Re: Unfortunately badger had stopped working


Don't have an exact answer for you, but I was getting a "stopped working" on Google search.  Others here suggested clearing Cache, and Clearing data (if any) under the Settings>Apps>all



A restart of the phone wouldnt be a bad idea.



 



So far, my problems with Google Search have not (yet) resurfaced.



 

Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 13,987
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 2,720
Message 3 of 15

Re: Unfortunately badger had stopped working



djousma said:


Don't have an exact answer for you, but I was getting a "stopped working" on Google search.  Others here suggested clearing Cache, and Clearing data (if any) under the Settings>Apps>all



A restart of the phone wouldnt be a bad idea.



 



So far, my problems with Google Search have not (yet) resurfaced.



 


View original


+1!



Find Badger in the apps list (all tab), and clear data and cache.



Reboot.



Let us know if this helps.

Comment in the spirit of COMMUNITY: "Share experiences / expertise, engage in the discussions, and offer advice and suggestions."
redddog
Punch Card
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎12-13-2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Views: 2,720
Message 4 of 15

Re: Unfortunately badger had stopped working


Can I ask....



What the heck is Badger?

Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 13,987
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 2,720
Message 5 of 15

Re: Unfortunately badger had stopped working


The general consensus is that it is the app needed to put the "badges" on our apps to tell us things like how many messages are new and unread, or how many SMS messages we have yet to read....



Something like these



Comment in the spirit of COMMUNITY: "Share experiences / expertise, engage in the discussions, and offer advice and suggestions."
cybertj_2000
SCSI Port
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Location: US
Views: 2,720
Message 6 of 15

Re: Unfortunately badger had stopped working

Update:

Cleared cache and rebooted, did this twice, same thing after reboot both times.

Anyone else have any suggestions. Don't want to factory reset if possible.
Sent from a Moto Z2 Force Edition and authored by its Human!!!
Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 13,987
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 2,720
Message 7 of 15

Re: Unfortunately badger had stopped working



cybertj.2000 said:

Update: Cleared cache and rebooted, did this twice, same thing after reboot both times. Anyone else have any suggestions. Don't want to factory reset if possible.View original


Did you also clear data for the Badger app?

Comment in the spirit of COMMUNITY: "Share experiences / expertise, engage in the discussions, and offer advice and suggestions."
cybertj_2000
SCSI Port
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Location: US
Views: 2,720
Message 8 of 15

Re: Unfortunately badger had stopped working

I force stopped it the first time (which cleared data it appeared), cleared
data the second time, no change.
Sent from a Moto Z2 Force Edition and authored by its Human!!!
Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 13,987
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 2,720
Message 9 of 15

Re: Unfortunately badger had stopped working


Can you tell us what might have changed on your device a few days ago that might have triggered this change?  Did you add an app?  Update an app?  Change or activate some setting???

Comment in the spirit of COMMUNITY: "Share experiences / expertise, engage in the discussions, and offer advice and suggestions."
Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 13,987
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 2,720
Message 10 of 15

Re: Unfortunately badger had stopped working



eaccents said:


Can you tell us what might have changed on your device a few days ago that might have triggered this change?  Did you add an app?  Update an app?  Change or activate some setting???


View original


Also, have you frozen or disabled any apps?

Comment in the spirit of COMMUNITY: "Share experiences / expertise, engage in the discussions, and offer advice and suggestions."