Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 15,406
Registered: ‎02-03-2016
Location: United States
Message 1 of 13 (181 Views)

Droid X2: Safe Mode?

Ever since I've got my X2 I have been trying to boot into Safe mode. The problem is that it never starts in Safe Mode. Verizon has the directions right on their website, but they don't work, for me anyway. You can see them here.

What I am wondering is: Can anyone confirm that they have started their X2 in Safe Mode? I have even tried a Factory data reset which didn't help at all.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I am not a Motorola/Lenovo Employee. I am just a volunteer who happens to be a Moderator. All comments are my own and are not necessarily Motorola/Lenovo's position.

What's DOS?
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
Message 2 of 13 (181 Views)

Re: Droid X2: Safe Mode?

I've tried and it didn't work for me either.

Moto Emeritus
Posts: 12,243
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Location: United States
Message 3 of 13 (181 Views)

Re: Droid X2: Safe Mode?

joelbon wrote:

Ever since I've got my X2 I have been trying to boot into Safe mode. The problem is that it never starts in Safe Mode. Verizon has the directions right on their website, but they don't work, for me anyway. You can see them here.

What I am wondering is: Can anyone confirm that they have started their X2 in Safe Mode? I have even tried a Factory data reset which didn't help at all.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Joel, it almost seems as though the code for safe mode wasn't implemented.  I have a feeling this one is not "hit or miss" like we have seen on a few occasions on a couple of Droid models.   Hopefully they'll get this apparent oversight quickly corrected.    --- Dan

802.11n
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎07-15-2010
Message 4 of 13 (181 Views)

Re: Droid X2: Safe Mode?

I tried it and it doesn't work for me either. I guess we're all operating in unsafe mode.

Live on the Edge. Droid Does Dangerous.

Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 15,406
Registered: ‎02-03-2016
Location: United States
Message 5 of 13 (181 Views)

Re: Droid X2: Safe Mode?

Well, now that I have upgraded to GB, Safe mode is now working! This is great news for anyone that is doing any troubleshooting. So far I am loving GB.

I am not a Motorola/Lenovo Employee. I am just a volunteer who happens to be a Moderator. All comments are my own and are not necessarily Motorola/Lenovo's position.

802.11n
Posts: 896
Registered: ‎09-07-2010
Location: United States
Message 6 of 13 (181 Views)

Re: Droid X2: Safe Mode?

It works for me!

Paper Tape
Posts: 527
Registered: ‎10-20-2010
Location: US
Message 7 of 13 (181 Views)

Re: Droid X2: Safe Mode?

I have started mine in safe mode. I turned the phone off, then held the menu, pressed power at the same time, when the red 'M' logo came up, let go of power while still holding the menu button and after about 50 seconds the safe mode came up at the bottom of the screen. You have to hold the menu button through the entire reboot.

What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-08-2011
Location: United States
Message 8 of 13 (181 Views)

Re: Droid X2: Safe Mode?

Is the menu button on the bottom left corner with the icon of 4 squares? I have tried every combination and can't get Safe Mode to run...

Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 15,406
Registered: ‎02-03-2016
Location: United States
Message 9 of 13 (181 Views)

Re: Droid X2: Safe Mode?

Yes, it is. If you go to About phone in settings, what is your Android version? If you don't have the current Android version than you won't be able to get into Safe mode. You should be on version 2.3.3. Hope this helps.

I am not a Motorola/Lenovo Employee. I am just a volunteer who happens to be a Moderator. All comments are my own and are not necessarily Motorola/Lenovo's position.

What's DOS?
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
Message 10 of 13 (181 Views)

Re: Droid X2: Safe Mode?

Thanks! I didn't know about Safe Mode. This could come in very handy while troubleshooting.