cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
jason_droid
What's DOS?
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎06-28-2011
Location: United States
Views: 7,323
Message 1 of 13

"Unable to initialize camera" (with logcat info)

So, after successfully using my X2's camera, it stopped working all of a sudden.  Here's the relevant logcat information:


 


09-01 16:06:13.036  1361 10217 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x774718
09-01 16:06:13.036 1361 10173 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x444060
09-01 16:06:13.036 1361 10231 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x8b22e8
09-01 16:06:13.036 1361 10188 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x16ec68
09-01 16:06:13.036 1361 10159 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x49b9f8
09-01 16:06:13.036 1361 10203 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x627a68
09-01 16:06:13.036 1361 10217 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x774718
09-01 16:06:13.036 1361 10173 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x444060
09-01 16:06:13.036 1361 10231 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x8b22e8
09-01 16:06:13.036 1361 10188 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x16ec68
09-01 16:06:13.036 1361 10159 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x49b9f8
09-01 16:06:13.036 1361 10203 E OMXPlayer: waiting to render 0x627a68
09-01 16:06:29.534 1479 3965 I ActivityManager: Starting: Intent { act=android
.intent.action.MAIN cat=[android.intent.category.LAUNCHER] flg=0x10200000 cmp=co
m.motorola.Camera/.Camera bnds=[135,803][270,960] } from pid 1659

09-01 16:06:29.604  1479  1684 I ActivityManager: Start proc com.motorola.Camera
for activity com.motorola.Camera/.Camera: pid=18854 uid=10072 gids={1006, 1015}
09-01 16:06:29.684 1479 1485 I WindowManager: Setting rotation to 1, animFlags
=1
09-01 16:06:30.064 1672 1824 D MirrorService: onRotationChanged - rotation = 1
09-01 16:06:30.064 1672 1824 D MirrorService: onRotationChanged! - LANDSCAPE!!
!
09-01 16:06:30.064 1479 1485 I ActivityManager: Config changed: { scale=1.0 im
si=310/4 loc=en_US touch=3 keys=1/1/2 nav=1/1 orien=2 layout=268435490 uiMode=17
seq=73}

09-01 16:06:30.624 18854 18854 D MotoCamera: onCreate() - Enter
09-01 16:06:30.634 18854 18854 D CommonCamSetting: VolumeList /mnt/sdcard-ext
09-01 16:06:30.634 18854 18854 D CommonCamSetting: Dual Volume Available? true
09-01 16:06:30.634 18854 18854 D CommonCamSetting: loadCommonPreferences() - Ent
er
09-01 16:06:30.634 18854 18854 D CommonCamSetting: loadCommonPreferences() - Exi
t
09-01 16:06:30.634 18854 18854 D CommonCamSetting: loadFlexValue() - Enter
09-01 16:06:30.634 18854 18854 D CommonCamSetting: loadFlexValue() - Based on di
splay size, selecting PREMIUM camera mode
09-01 16:06:30.634 18854 18854 D CommonCamSetting: Droid2 isDroid2 in setting8m
09-01 16:06:30.644 18854 18854 D CommonCamSetting: Droid2 isDroid2 in settingfal
se
09-01 16:06:30.644 18854 18854 D CommonCamSetting: loadFlexValue() - Exit
09-01 16:06:30.644 18854 18854 D MotoCamSettingBack: load() - Enter
09-01 16:06:30.644 18854 18854 D MotoCamSettingBack: load() - Exit
09-01 16:06:30.644 18854 18854 D MotoCamSettingBack: Droid2 video scene number2
09-01 16:06:30.644 18854 18854 D MotoCamSettingBack: Enable Panorama
09-01 16:06:30.654 18854 18854 D MotoCamSettingFront: load() - Enter
09-01 16:06:30.654 18854 18854 D MotoCamSettingFront: load() - Exit
09-01 16:06:30.654 18854 18854 D CommonCamSetting: Camcorder zoom supported
09-01 16:06:30.654 18854 18854 D CommonCamSetting: Connected Gallery Package fou
nd so should NOT write Location tag to DB......

09-01 16:06:30.844 18854 18854 D PanoramaIndicatorView:  onFinishInflate() ENTER
09-01 16:06:30.844 18854 18854 D PanoramaIndicatorView: onFinishInflate() EXIT
09-01 16:06:30.844 18854 18854 D FaceTrackingView: Constructor context attrs - E
nter
09-01 16:06:30.864 18854 18854 D MotoCamera Engine Proxy: new Cam Utility instan
ce
09-01 16:06:30.864 18854 18854 D MotoCamSettingBack: setCurrentAppMode CamSettin
gBack
09-01 16:06:30.864 18854 18854 D MotoCamSettingFront: setCurrentAppMode CamSetti
ngFront
09-01 16:06:30.874 18854 18874 D MotoCamera: startPreview() - Enter
09-01 16:06:30.874 18854 18874 D MotoCamera: startPreview() - mCameraDevice = nu
ll, opening
09-01 16:06:30.874 1361 1840 W CameraService: CameraService::connect X (pid 18
854) rejected (camera 0 is still busy).
09-01 16:06:30.874 18854 18874 E MotoCamera: startPreview() - failed to open cam
era

09-01 16:06:31.534 18854 18854 D MotoCamera: EXIT_CAMERA occurs!
09-01 16:06:31.534 1479 4057 W ActivityManager: Duplicate finish request for H
istoryRecord{408c76d0 com.motorola.Camera/.Camera}
09-01 16:06:31.594 18854 18854 D MotoCamera: onDestroy() - Enter
09-01 16:06:31.594 18854 18854 D MotoCamera: closeCamera() - Enter
09-01 16:06:31.594 18854 18854 D MotoCamera: closeCamera() - Exit



I tried about 10x to open the camera, each with the same results.  So, is this a bug?

Obviously if I restart it should work again, but I'd still like to see this patched along with some other issues.

If I try to open DroidLight, it immediately crashes as well, since the camera is listed as 'busy.'
Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 15,450
Registered: ‎02-03-2016
Location: US
Views: 7,323
Message 2 of 13

Re: "Unable to initialize camera" (with logcat info)

Why would they patch something that works after you reboot. This could just be a cache issue or something else. If it is working after reboot than I see no problem.


If you are having problems than try starting in Safe mode and see if it continues there. If it doesn't than I would say that there is a 3rd party app that might be causing a problem. Hope this helps.

I am not a Motorola/Lenovo Employee. I am just a volunteer who happens to be a Moderator. All comments are my own and are not necessarily Motorola/Lenovo's position.

jason_droid
What's DOS?
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎06-28-2011
Location: United States
Views: 7,323
Message 3 of 13

Re: "Unable to initialize camera" (with logcat info)


joelbon said:

Why would they patch something that works after you reboot. This could just be a cache issue or something else. If it is working after reboot than I see no problem.


If you are having problems than try starting in Safe mode and see if it continues there. If it doesn't than I would say that there is a 3rd party app that might be causing a problem. Hope this helps.



Hmm, so Motorola shouldn't have fixed the disappearing home screen shortcuts on reboots for apps installed on the SD card or the horrendous music skipping/stuttering bug that plagued the Droid X2 (and still plagues it, albeit much less than before)?  It's a bug, and it should be fixed.  Period.  This type of attitude is the reason why Motorola has fallen so far behind.


You're basically saying, well, if it works after a reboot, there's no problem.  No, there is a problem, and I've provided the data.  Based on the logcat, the camera library was still active even though the camera app itself was closed.  Thus, it reported the camera was busy and couldn't initialize.  Unfortunately, there's no way to unload the library without a reboot.

mojorizen
What's DOS?
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-27-2011
Location: United States
Views: 7,323
Message 4 of 13

Re: "Unable to initialize camera" (with logcat info)



jason.droid said:



joelbon said:


Why would they patch something that works after you reboot. This could just be a cache issue or something else. If it is working after reboot than I see no problem.



If you are having problems than try starting in Safe mode and see if it continues there. If it doesn't than I would say that there is a 3rd party app that might be causing a problem. Hope this helps.




Hmm, so Motorola shouldn't have fixed the disappearing home screen shortcuts on reboots for apps installed on the SD card or the horrendous music skipping/stuttering bug that plagued the Droid X2 (and still plagues it, albeit much less than before)?  It's a bug, and it should be fixed.  Period.  This type of attitude is the reason why Motorola has fallen so far behind.



You're basically saying, well, if it works after a reboot, there's no problem.  No, there is a problem, and I've provided the data.  Based on the logcat, the camera library was still active even though the camera app itself was closed.  Thus, it reported the camera was busy and couldn't initialize.  Unfortunately, there's no way to unload the library without a reboot.


View original




No, this is the reason why people fled Moto to other OEM's. Flaky software with even crappier "fixes".



 



It's amazing too, I leave Moto because of software crashing and constant reboots. And not once have I had a reboot or had software crash on either of the Galaxy phones I've owned (Nexus and S3). Now when Moto hires some real programmers that can write decent code I may come back if the hardware is there as well. Big if.

DansDroid Moto Emeritus
Moto Emeritus
Posts: 12,243
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Location: United States
Views: 7,323
Message 5 of 13

Re: "Unable to initialize camera" (with logcat info)



jason.droid said:



joelbon said:


Why would they patch something that works after you reboot. This could just be a cache issue or something else. If it is working after reboot than I see no problem.



If you are having problems than try starting in Safe mode and see if it continues there. If it doesn't than I would say that there is a 3rd party app that might be causing a problem. Hope this helps.




 



"...You're basically saying, well, if it works after a reboot, there's no problem..."


View original


Hi Jason, have you put your phone into safe mode yet and tested your camera as Joel suggested?  It really does sound like there's an interrupt problem caused by another app.    --- Dan

jason_droid
What's DOS?
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎06-28-2011
Location: United States
Views: 7,323
Message 6 of 13

Re: "Unable to initialize camera" (with logcat info)

There are only 4 apps that have permission to access the camera (aside from the camera app): DroidLight, Facebook, Instagram, and Skype. I ran only the stock camera app, took a few pictures, deleted a few, then pushed back to exit the camera app. After that, it wouldn't initialize. I haven't encountered the issue since, and this was the first time I'd ever seen it.
DansDroid Moto Emeritus
Moto Emeritus
Posts: 12,243
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Location: United States
Views: 7,323
Message 7 of 13

Re: "Unable to initialize camera" (with logcat info)



jason.droid said:

There are only 4 apps that have permission to access the camera (aside from the camera app): DroidLight, Facebook, Instagram, and Skype. I ran only the stock camera app, took a few pictures, deleted a few, then pushed back to exit the camera app. After that, it wouldn't initialize. I haven't encountered the issue since, and this was the first time I'd ever seen it.View original




While those apps may be the only ones that can access the permissions, any third party application can interfere with the interrupts.  I recommend you put your phone into safe mode to see if the problem ceases (assuming you have already done a battery pull).  If the problem is gone in safe mode, you know the problem is a third party application conflict.  Here is how to safe mode the Droid X2.    --- Dan

jason_droid
What's DOS?
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎06-28-2011
Location: United States
Views: 7,323
Message 8 of 13

Re: "Unable to initialize camera" (with logcat info)

Safe mode won't prove anything if I can't reproduce the issue outside of safe mode.
DansDroid Moto Emeritus
Moto Emeritus
Posts: 12,243
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Location: United States
Views: 7,323
Message 9 of 13

Re: "Unable to initialize camera" (with logcat info)



jason.droid said:

Safe mode won't prove anything if I can't reproduce the issue outside of safe mode.View original


We must be having a break down in communications.  If your phone's camera functions correctly when *in* safe mode that means that there is a third party application that is the source of your problem, as third party applications cannot execute in safe mode.  If your camera does, in fact, work correctly in safe mode, try to recall the most recent third party applications you installed just prior to the problem manifesting itself.  You can remove them one by one until you find the problem application.   --- Dan

jason_droid
What's DOS?
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎06-28-2011
Location: United States
Views: 7,323
Message 10 of 13

Re: "Unable to initialize camera" (with logcat info)

Yep, we must be. As I said, the camera works fine now, and I can no longer reproduce the issue OUTSIDE of SAFE MODE. So, what would it prove if I can use the camera in safe mode or not? NOTHING.