English Community

Software and Operating SystemEnterprise Client Management
All Forum Topics
Options

40 Posts

09-10-2020

US

18 Signins

165 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎09-10-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 165
  • Message 1 of 11

Bios settings and Supervisor password in Task Sequence

2020-10-02, 16:17 PM

Good Afternoon All,

 

We have T14s.  In our Config Manager Task Sequence we are trying to set wake on lan from battery and power, TPM Disable Physical Presence for clear, and set a supervisor password.  

 

I hit F12, then delete to get into System Deployment mode then pxe booted.   Opened a command prompt and ran the thinkbiosconfig.hta from the laptops c: drive.   I set the wake on lan setting and then the Disable Physical Clear.  I exported the settings file and can see both changes in it.   I then set a supervisor password and saved that .ini file.  I created a package with all of those files and added two "Run Command Line" steps, each with a restart after.   First one is to set the settings, second is to set the password.  I added these steps after "apply operating system" but before the "post install steps".   I am using cmd.exe /c ThinkBiosConfig.hta "file=T14sGen1Config.ini"    and cmd.exe /c ThinkBiosConfig.hta "file=T14sGen1Password.ini" "pass=security key".

 

The wake on lan gets set but not the physical clear and the password doesn't get set. There is no current Supervisor password. 

 

Not sure what I am doing wrong, I followed the instructions at Lenovo's System Deployment Boot Mode blog.  Any help is much appreciated

 

thanks

Joe

Reply
Options

40 Posts

09-10-2020

US

18 Signins

165 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎09-10-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 165
  • Message 2 of 11

Re:Bios settings and Supervisor password in Task Sequence

2020-10-02, 17:19 PM

An update:

 

I went into System deployment Mode and then ran the task sequence and saw that physical presence was set to off but still no password.   I will reply to this post if I can figure it out.  If anyone has any ideas what I am doing wrong please let me know.

 

Thanks

 

Joe 

Reply
Options

40 Posts

09-10-2020

US

18 Signins

165 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎09-10-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 165
  • Message 3 of 11

Re:Bios settings and Supervisor password in Task Sequence

2020-10-02, 18:00 PM

Below is the copy of the log that gets generated if I try to run the command from the command line with elevated privilege's.  I tried using "pass=password key" and "key=password key"

 

-------------10/2/2020 1:53:48 PM--------------

fileLocation=T14sGen1Password.ini

key=**********

 

Finished gathering settings.

Found password change file

Password change: Access Denied

-------------10/2/2020 1:54:47 PM--------------

fileLocation=T14sGen1Password.ini

pass=**********

 

Finished gathering settings.

Found password change file

Password change: Access Denied

Reply
Options

40 Posts

09-10-2020

US

18 Signins

165 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎09-10-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 165
  • Message 4 of 11

Re:Bios settings and Supervisor password in Task Sequence

2020-10-02, 20:15 PM

@ JPP7717 wrote:
 

 

Below is the copy of the log that gets generated if I try to run the command from the command line with elevated privilege's.  I tried using "pass=password key" and "key=password key"

 

-------------10/2/2020 1:53:48 PM--------------

fileLocation=T14sGen1Password.ini

key=**********

 

Finished gathering settings.

Found password change file

Password change: Access Denied

-------------10/2/2020 1:54:47 PM--------------

fileLocation=T14sGen1Password.ini

pass=**********

 

Finished gathering settings.

Found password change file

Password change: Access Denied

 

 

 

Please ignore that last post.  I realized i would have to run the commands with the Bios in System Deployment Mode and thru WinPE.   I was able to set the password when I manually ran the commands thru a WinPE command prompt.  It's the same command I run from the Task Sequence.   Any ideas why I can make setting changes but not add the supervisor password from the task sequence?   

 

Thanks

 

Joe

 

 

Reply
Options

40 Posts

09-10-2020

US

18 Signins

165 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎09-10-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 165
  • Message 5 of 11

Re:Bios settings and Supervisor password in Task Sequence

2020-10-02, 20:15 PM

@ JPP7717 wrote:
 

 

Below is the copy of the log that gets generated if I try to run the command from the command line with elevated privilege's.  I tried using "pass=password key" and "key=password key"

 

-------------10/2/2020 1:53:48 PM--------------

fileLocation=T14sGen1Password.ini

key=**********

 

Finished gathering settings.

Found password change file

Password change: Access Denied

-------------10/2/2020 1:54:47 PM--------------

fileLocation=T14sGen1Password.ini

pass=**********

 

Finished gathering settings.

Found password change file

Password change: Access Denied

 

 

 

Please ignore that last post.  I realized i would have to run the commands with the Bios in System Deployment Mode and thru WinPE.   I was able to set the password when I manually ran the commands thru a WinPE command prompt.  It's the same command I run from the Task Sequence.   Any ideas why I can make setting changes but not add the supervisor password from the task sequence?   

 

Thanks

 

Joe

 

 

Reply
Options

749 Posts

06-09-2015

US

5195 Signins

50241 Page Views

  • Posts: 749
  • Registered: ‎06-09-2015
  • Location: US
  • Views: 50241
  • Message 6 of 11

Re:Bios settings and Supervisor password in Task Sequence

2020-10-05, 15:42 PM

Hey Joe,

 

I responded to your comment in the blog so I'll copy/paste here in case you see the comment here first:

 

Hey Joe,

Follow the steps in WinPE. I just tested on this model and the SVP was set successfully. Physical presence for clear requires a SVP so the order you're executing these steps is backwards. You need to call the HTA with the password file first:

ThinkBiosConfig.hta "file=yourpassword.ini" "key=yourencryptingkey"

then

ThinkBiosConfig.hta "file=T14sGen1Config.ini"

Reply
Options

40 Posts

09-10-2020

US

18 Signins

165 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎09-10-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 165
  • Message 7 of 11

Re:Bios settings and Supervisor password in Task Sequence

2020-10-05, 16:40 PM

Hi Phil,

 

Thanks for the response.   I will switch the steps, run it again and let you know if that fixes it.   

 

Joe

Reply
Options

40 Posts

09-10-2020

US

18 Signins

165 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎09-10-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 165
  • Message 8 of 11

Re:Bios settings and Supervisor password in Task Sequence

2020-10-05, 17:56 PM

Hi Phil,

 

We are seeing a pop up during the task sequence that states "Password failed validity check."   If you click Ok the TS finishes and the supervisor password is set.   Can the key have uppercase letters in it?   I looked up that error and saw a post where it was stated that the key used for setting the password couldn't have any capitalized letters in it.

 

Thanks

Joe

Reply
Options

185 Posts

06-02-2015

US

815 Signins

9698 Page Views

  • Posts: 185
  • Registered: ‎06-02-2015
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9698
  • Message 9 of 11

Re:Bios settings and Supervisor password in Task Sequence

2020-10-05, 18:20 PM

Hi Joe,

 

Sorry you are having an issue. There is a bug in the current version of the tool that shows that message box. The point of the message was to prevent users from locking themselves out of applying WMI with a incorrect password. The fixed version will be posted today or tomorrow.

 

As for the uppercase letters, do you have the StrongPassword setting enabled? Without that, I do not think it will allow the uppercase characters. A strong password like that uses a different method to set the password.

 

 

Reply
Options

40 Posts

09-10-2020

US

18 Signins

165 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎09-10-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 165
  • Message 10 of 11

Re:Bios settings and Supervisor password in Task Sequence

2020-10-05, 18:44 PM

Hi Phil,

 

 

Thanks, I will wait for the new version of the Tool to come out, glad it wasn't me.   I checked and Strong Password is set to disable.  Is that something we would have to change before we set the password in the Task Sequence?   If so I can regenerate a new password.ini file and use all lowercase characters in the encryption key.  What is weird is with Strong Password disabled and an encryption key that has a capital letter in it the supervisor password does get set,  it just throws up that dialog box in the TS.  

 

Thanks

Joe

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete