cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
TaveresHarris
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Views: 6,043
Message 1 of 38

Deploying Images to ThinkPad T460s | WDS on Server 2012 R2 | Intel 1219-V LAN Driver | Win10 Image

Hello, community

My name is Taveres Harris and I am new to the Lenovo support community. Please help me make my first experience successful.

I have been tasked with deploying new Win10 PCs by the EOY. My company purchased Lenovo ThinkPad T460s(s) and Lenovo ThinkCentre M900(s). I didn't have any trouble creating the image and uploading it to the WDS server, which is Server 2012 R2. However, I am having no luck deploying the image to the PCs.

Here's what is known:

*Each PCs MAC address has been added to the 'Allowed' filter on my DHCP server

*Each PC has the same ethernet LAN drivers (Intel 1219-V 64-bit Windows 10)

*WDS is configured correctly (I have no trouble deploying images to my Windows 7 machines)

*Boot.wim for my Windows 10 machines is correctly added to the WDS server

Here's the issue:

When I boot a PC, press F12 to initate a PXE boot, and choose the NIC adapter to boot, I have no trouble. From there, I get to my boot options listed in the WDS server and choose the Windows 10 boot image.

From there, WDS goes to the setup window, and eventually, I get a message stating the following:

WdsClient: An error occured while obtaining an IP address from the DHCP server. Please check to ensure that there is an operational DHCP server on this network segment.

I have researched the possible reasons for that error, and have narrowed it down to the LAN driver not being provisioned for Windows Server 2012 R2. For my Windows 7 machines, I can simply add a drivers package (according to the LAN driver on the machine) and inject it in the Win10boot.wim, but I cannot do this for the Intel 1219-V LAN drivers.

When I try to add the driver package, I recieve the error message stating the following: