Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemEnterprise Client Management
All Forum Topics
Options

27 Posts

10-11-2020

United States of America

23 Signins

275 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 275
  • Message 1 of 7

Is it possible to specify battery charge thresholds via the registry?

2020-12-02, 2:57 AM

Hello,

 

Don't want to install vantage. Isn't it the power manager that enforces charge thresholds? So it should be possible to configure it without vantage.

 

Thanks 

Reply
Options

800 Posts

06-09-2015

United States of America

5297 Signins

50951 Page Views

  • Posts: 800
  • Registered: ‎06-09-2015
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 50951
  • Message 2 of 7

Re:Is it possible to specify battery charge thresholds via the registry?

2020-12-02, 3:09 AM

Yep, this tool should do it 

https://forums.lenovo.com/topic/view/2578/4345631

 

 

 

 

Reply
Options

27 Posts

10-11-2020

United States of America

23 Signins

275 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 275
  • Message 3 of 7

Re:Is it possible to specify battery charge thresholds via the registry?

2020-12-02, 4:04 AM

Initially this failed as described in the first comment on the chargethreshold.exe page

 

C:\>chargethreshold on 50 40
Charge threshold is turned ON for Battery #1.
Charge threshold for Battery #1: OFF.

 

There was a link to a thread with a couple of downloads that were supposed to fix this by by adjusting reg key perms:

https://forums.lenovo.com/topic/findpost/28/4341901/4348989

https://forums.lenovo.com/topic/findpost/28/4341901/4351839

They didn't work. @someotherguy Did running both of those do anything that needs to be undone? 

The following post showed that the required threshold reg values were missing:

https://forums.lenovo.com/topic/findpost/28/4341901/5195887

Manually creating them fixed the problem.

Reply
Options

927 Posts

02-20-2009

United States of America

1075 Signins

6406 Page Views

  • Posts: 927
  • Registered: ‎02-20-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 6406
  • Message 4 of 7

Re:Is it possible to specify battery charge thresholds via the registry?

2020-12-02, 12:08 PM

I would nudge you to consider NOT doing this change via the registry (unless there is little to no chance of a person using their system and having to travel), and instead consider training employees on this setting so they can change it themselves....here is the reasoning...

While right now a lot of locations have been required to lock down due to the COVID emergency, there will be a future where this is no longer the case, and people will be able to take their mobile laptop computer and travel with it. When that happens, there will be a desire to have a full battery for times away from AC power...a full tank, if you will.

If you force a reduced battery capacity for a person, that would be a burden when everyone returns to travel. Instead, they could toggle the setting on and off as they see fit with the Vantage software, since only they know when they may be traveling with their computer. This could be done with some simple training. It is in the end user's best interest to preserve battery capacity if you have issued him/her a system they are expected to use for the next 3+ years...

If your view is this is a temporary measure while people are mostly plugged in all day long, and plan to "readjust" registry settings in the future (after there is no longer the requirement to shelter in place) that would be a different circumstance.

Just something to consider...the Vantage software is flexible and controllable, and the plan is to add even more control and capability as time moves forward.

 

 

Reply
Options

6825 Posts

10-29-2009

United States of America

17764 Signins

164899 Page Views

  • Posts: 6825
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 164899
  • Message 5 of 7

Re:Is it possible to specify battery charge thresholds via the registry?

2020-12-02, 15:39 PM

@t14g1amd  

As far as I know (and tested here), ChargeThreshold.exe still works.

What version of Lenovo Power Manager is installed in Device Manager -> System Devices?  Latest version is 10.0.132.0 which you can get from the support website.

https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/us/en/products/laptops-and-netbooks/thinkpad-t-series-laptops/thinkpad-t14-type-20ud-20ue/downloads/ds541411-lenovo-settings-power-manager-for-windows-10-version-1703-or-later-thinkpad

Reply
Options

27 Posts

10-11-2020

United States of America

23 Signins

275 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 275
  • Message 6 of 7

Re:Is it possible to specify battery charge thresholds via the registry?

2020-12-02, 15:56 PM

@someotherguy   To get it to actually change the thresholds I had to create the missing reg values as directed by @hzfdbd  

He said it's a power manager bug:

This issue is caused by latest version of  Lenovo Power Manager driver in device manager.

And we will release fix in next version

my versions:

Lenovo PM Device 1.67.17.52
Lenovo Power Manager 10.0.132.0

I am still trying to confirm the specified thresholds are actually working.

I was asking you if there's any concern about having run the two utilities you posted:

https://forums.lenovo.com/topic/findpost/28/4341901/4348989
https://forums.lenovo.com/topic/findpost/28/4341901/4351839

since they weren't actually needed in this case.

Reply
Options

6825 Posts

10-29-2009

United States of America

17764 Signins

164899 Page Views

  • Posts: 6825
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 164899
  • Message 7 of 7

Re:Is it possible to specify battery charge thresholds via the registry?

2020-12-02, 16:05 PM

Sorry, I wasn't up-to-date about what is apparently a known bug.  Still, I don't see it here.  Anyway, those old tools you found in the other thread were fixing registry permissions which was the cause of an old bug.  I don't think you need to undo anything after running those tools today (although they should not be needed today).

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms