cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
marvin02
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,632
Registered: ‎03-08-2010
Location: United States
Views: 1,205
Message 1 of 8

Using the barcode Scanner app

Do you like to scan the barcodes for apps from sites like androlib.com? I do it all the time.

So - I got a new Flipside today and because I had read that fixed focus cameras had issues reading barcodes It was one of the first things I tried. I installed the Barcode Scanner and went to androlib to test it out.

I was disappointed that the app couldn't get a lock on the barcode. But I got it to work by zooming the view in my browser to make the barcode bigger. You can zoom in by pressing the control key (Ctrl) and the plus key at the same time with Firefox and Internet Explorer. When the barcode was about double the normal size the app could read it.

Of course this doesn't help with printed barcodes.

I haven't tested it much but in the AT&T section of the Android market there is an app called AT&T code scanner you can try as an alternative to the one I linked to above. Androlib page for AT&T scanner.

There are other scanners, such as Shop Savvy too. If you find one that works well with the Flipside post it.

I just got the phone and am learning about it like most of you who drop in here. Feel free to post tips and observations about the phone.

----
I am a volunteer. The MotoXprt tag means I spend too much time here. The opinions expressed in my posts are my own. I own a Backflip and now am using a Flipside. If my advice doesn't make any sense - ignore it!

Introduced to Android by the Moto Backflip
Mark_Emeritus Moto Emeritus
Moto Emeritus
Posts: 16,016
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Location: The Moon
Views: 1,205
Message 2 of 8

Re: Using the barcode Scanner app

@marvin02

This is because the phone is fixed focus.  Thanks for indicating some "work arounds"

Mark

Support Forums Manager

Mark
Former Employee
marvin02
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,632
Registered: ‎03-08-2010
Location: United States
Views: 1,205
Message 3 of 8

Re: Using the barcode Scanner app

@Mark

You're welcome.

I scan codes from web sites a lot so I'm glad it can handle those.

Introduced to Android by the Moto Backflip
hcast
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
Views: 1,205
Message 4 of 8

Re: Using the barcode Scanner app

Using Google GOGGLES on the Flipside has had a nearly 100% rate of accuracy resolving QR codes -- plus, it can be used for so much more...I don't bother with the basic Barcode scanner from the Market (or, worse, the proprietary AT&T scanner that doesn't work with QR).

firemedicmcse
What's DOS?
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Views: 1,205
Message 5 of 8

Re: Using the barcode Scanner app

Android Market says that Google Goggles is incompatible with the Flipside.

Mark_Emeritus Moto Emeritus
Moto Emeritus
Posts: 16,016
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Location: The Moon
Views: 1,205
Message 6 of 8

Re: Using the barcode Scanner app

@firemedimcse

You'll probably need to update your Flipside to FroYo first.

Mark

Support Forums Manager

Mark
Former Employee
firemedicmcse
What's DOS?
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Views: 1,205
Message 7 of 8

Re: Using the barcode Scanner app

Hey Mark

My phone says it is running Android 2.2.2

Mark_Emeritus Moto Emeritus
Moto Emeritus
Posts: 16,016
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Location: The Moon
Views: 1,205
Message 8 of 8

Re: Using the barcode Scanner app

@firemedicmcse

Hmm perhaps Google pulled it off for compatibility because the camera is fixed focus. I'm not seeing it either now.

Mark

Support Forums Manager

Mark
Former Employee