Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Desktops
All Forum Topics
Options

9 Posts

06-13-2017

United States of America

15 Signins

155 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 155
  • Message 1 of 12

G-SYNC in AIO Y910 (F0CJ000BUS)

2017-06-13, 17:30 PM

Hi,

I've just bought F0CJ000BUS AIO. Previously I saw in Amazon questionary that this model should support G-SYNC:

 

 

Question: Does this aio support g-sync?? i can't find the information anywhere!! thx
Answer: Yes, the screen on model number, F0CJ000BUS, has Nvidia G-Sync Technology. 
By Lenovo Representative on December 19, 2016
Question: Does it really support g-sync? don't see this option in f0cj000bus model (just bought it)
Answer: Yes, the NVIDIA GTX 1080 GPU within this configuration supports G-Sync technology. 
By Lenovo Representative on June 11, 2017 

 

But I can't find option in NVIDIA control panel. As I understand to turn on G-SYNC I should enable it there, but seems this AIO screen just does not support G-SYNC.

 

Does anyone know for sure is it supports this technology or not? If it supports G-SYNC maybe you know how should I enable it?

If not, then I'm a little confused with answers of 'Lenovo Representative' on amazon...

Reply
Answer
Options

11021 Posts

08-17-2015

Slovakia

26855 Signins

587900 Page Views

  • Posts: 11021
  • Registered: ‎08-17-2015
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 587900

Re: G-SYNC in AIO Y910 (F0CJ000BUS)

2017-06-14, 6:53 AM

Hi Sensationalist,

 

unfortunately none of the AIO Y910 models support G-Sync. Its a QHD Panel capable of 144hz and when shipped with an AMD card, the panel supports FreeSync, but with the GeForce Models, there is no G-Sync support on the AIO Y910.

 

Best regards,

 

Juraj
German, Czech & Slovak Community Lead


EN : Welcome to the Community! Have you already participated in the forum survey? Please, let us know what you like about our forum and what we can improve. We listen to your feedback!

DE : Willkommen in der Community! Hatten Sie bereits an der Foren Umfrage teilgenommen? Wir benötigen die folgenden Informationen. Wir hören zu und lesen Ihre Kommentare gerne!

CZ/SK : Vítejte v Komunitě! Už jste se zúčastnili našeho průzkumu fóra? Potřebujeme následující informace. S radostí posloucháme a čteme vaše komentáře!
_
Communities: English Deutsch Español Portugues Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Moto English
_

Reply

Replies(11)
Answer
Options

11021 Posts

08-17-2015

Slovakia

26855 Signins

587900 Page Views

  • Posts: 11021
  • Registered: ‎08-17-2015
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 587900
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: G-SYNC in AIO Y910 (F0CJ000BUS)

2017-06-14, 6:53 AM

Hi Sensationalist,

 

unfortunately none of the AIO Y910 models support G-Sync. Its a QHD Panel capable of 144hz and when shipped with an AMD card, the panel supports FreeSync, but with the GeForce Models, there is no G-Sync support on the AIO Y910.

 

Best regards,

 

Juraj
German, Czech & Slovak Community Lead


EN : Welcome to the Community! Have you already participated in the forum survey? Please, let us know what you like about our forum and what we can improve. We listen to your feedback!

DE : Willkommen in der Community! Hatten Sie bereits an der Foren Umfrage teilgenommen? Wir benötigen die folgenden Informationen. Wir hören zu und lesen Ihre Kommentare gerne!

CZ/SK : Vítejte v Komunitě! Už jste se zúčastnili našeho průzkumu fóra? Potřebujeme následující informace. S radostí posloucháme a čteme vaše komentáře!
_
Communities: English Deutsch Español Portugues Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Moto English
_

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

9 Posts

06-13-2017

United States of America

15 Signins

155 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 155
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: G-SYNC in AIO Y910 (F0CJ000BUS)

2017-06-14, 13:12 PM

Thank you for answer.

Too bad :( I hoped I'm just missing something. So seems like information on Amazon is not correct.

Reply
Options

51 Posts

11-23-2017

Germany

79 Signins

686 Page Views

  • Posts: 51
  • Registered: ‎11-23-2017
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 686
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: G-SYNC in AIO Y910 (F0CJ000BUS)

2019-01-17, 7:09 AM

Hi there!

 

With the new NVIDIA driver 417.71 from yesterday we can turn on G-Sync (Freesync) also for the Y910 now. I tried the new driver out yesterday and it works here on my system with GTX 1080. Only problem is that the screens turns black shortly if I change the volume within a game with "FN + volume keys". I thinks it's because windows paints the volume state in the screen. But everything else is working like a charme.

 

Best regards

DmdlC

Reply
Options

13 Posts

01-21-2018

United States of America

35 Signins

183 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 183
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: G-SYNC in AIO Y910 (F0CJ000BUS)

2019-01-17, 12:06 PM

 I saw this new feature on the most recent driver release as well.  I have the y910 with the gtx 1070.  I went into nvidia control panel to turn this on but the control panel keeps telling me my monitor is not vsync compatible.  

 

I read on some forums that this freesync-gsync compatibility only works when connecting a monitor using DVI.  Our y910 units use HDMI.  Apparently that is currently not supported yet.

 

How were you able to get this working?  Can you provide screenshots of your nvidia control panel settings?

Reply
Options

51 Posts

11-23-2017

Germany

79 Signins

686 Page Views

  • Posts: 51
  • Registered: ‎11-23-2017
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 686
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: G-SYNC in AIO Y910 (F0CJ000BUS)

2019-01-17, 17:13 PM

Hm, ok after some Google research it seems that you are right. But I also found this on the AMD website that HDMI has implemented freesync features:

 

https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/free-sync-faq#faq-Does-Radeon%E2%84%A2-FreeSync-technology-work-over-HDMI%C2%AE?

 

And as the Y910 with the AMD RX460 grafic card support freesync and the Y910 has a HDMI connector also for this model (I guess), I thought it could be that freesync over HDMI is also working with the new NVIDIA driver.

 

But nevertheless I can activate G-Sync on my control panel... But I don't know if it works... Everything seems to be very smooth...

Reply
Options

13 Posts

01-21-2018

United States of America

35 Signins

183 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 183
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: G-SYNC in AIO Y910 (F0CJ000BUS)

2019-01-20, 15:34 PM

Yep that is exactly what my control panel looks like.  Curious...are you using vsync in game settings also?  If so, what fps are you capping it at?  What games?

Reply
Options

51 Posts

11-23-2017

Germany

79 Signins

686 Page Views

  • Posts: 51
  • Registered: ‎11-23-2017
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 686
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: G-SYNC in AIO Y910 (F0CJ000BUS)

2019-01-20, 17:06 PM

Yes I play with vsync on at 144 Hz. All games... But I'm not sure if freesync really works because I don't see any difference with this G-Sync feature turned on or off. As I can see the tearing effect with vsync off I guess that freesync is not really working with our Y910 systems with nvidia cards... :-(

Reply
Options

13 Posts

01-21-2018

United States of America

35 Signins

183 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 183
  • Message 9 of 12

Re: G-SYNC in AIO Y910 (F0CJ000BUS)

2019-01-20, 17:19 PM

Hmmm interesting.   I have been reading up on all of this.  Many people agree that there are some diminishing returns at higher framerates like 120 and 144hz since those framerates deliver frames so fast that stutters and tearing are not as apparent as they are at 60hz.  

 

Are you seeing your frames stay at a steady 144 while in game?  If not and vsync is off then that would probably tell us freesync is not working.  I think?!?!    However I have read some forums that claim freesync is supposed to have vsync also on to work properly.  

 

I'm going to test some tonight and post back here with results.  

Reply
Options

51 Posts

11-23-2017

Germany

79 Signins

686 Page Views

  • Posts: 51
  • Registered: ‎11-23-2017
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 686
  • Message 10 of 12

Re: G-SYNC in AIO Y910 (F0CJ000BUS)

2019-01-20, 19:05 PM

So now you have made me curious... ;-)

I made some tests with Crysis 1 now - with 8x AA and everything on maximal effects, first level. With r_DisplayInfo=1 you can see the framerate perfectly...

 

I tested first with G-Sync off and with vsync off. There are massive tearing effects. Framerate is going from 60 up to 100 and down and so on.

Then I quit the game and turned G-Sync on and vsync off. Now everything is completely without tearing effetcs and framerate mostly stable at 60 fps (or below).

 

After I turned vsync also on everything was also stable at 60 fps (or below). Sometimes the screen went black shortly for a second - but came back.

 

So finally I must correct myself, G-Sync definitely does something on our Y910 - even if the card is connected per HDMI.

 

It is working not perfectly because of the black screens in Crysis 1. And some games seems to react not as expected: The game where I have seen tearing effects (written in my older post) was Portal 2. I don't know what's wrong here...

 

But Crysis 1 shows us clearly that there is a difference between G-Sync on and off.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms