Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Desktops
All Forum Topics
Options

44 Posts

03-26-2012

United States of America

36 Signins

227 Page Views

  • Posts: 44
  • Registered: ‎03-26-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 227
  • Message 11 of 26

Re:Legion Tower 7i - Add a SSD

2021-07-23, 15:26 PM

I bought a Legion tower T7-34IMZ5.

 

I perhaps naively chose no drive other than the boot SSD, because my experience with prebuilt PCs has been that it would come with bays for drives already wired for power and data. I will skip here the surprise I got that the drive limits are 4x2TB, which is shockingly tiny (I have four 10TB HDDs and a boot SSD in my other PC.)

 

So now I have four 2TB drives: 2xSSD and 2x3.5" HDD. Since none of the drive bays are connected to power and data, could someone please get me started on which cables on the right side are to be connected to the bays? I see two easy power cables evidently intended for the two 3.5" bays. But I am reluctant to root around with all the other cables to find which ones are data for the 3.5"'s and power and data for the 2.5"'s.

 

Thank you very much.

 

Doug

Reply
Options

62 Posts

01-02-2017

United States of America

67 Signins

453 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 453
  • Message 12 of 26

Re:Legion Tower 7i - Add a SSD

2021-07-23, 19:58 PM

The included SATA cables should work fine with your drives.  Their connection point to the system board is hidden by the GPU for 4 of the 6 SATA ports.  The drive size limits in the Lenovo documentation are based on their testing.  I've found that they are not the upper limits, just what they tested.  What I don't know is if you can use both of the NVMe slots and all 6 of the SATA ports at the same time.  I've tested it with two NVMe drives and 4 SATA drives, most of them larger than the documented sizes and it has run fine and fast for months. 

 

Nothing I've tested is 10TB in size, so please share what you find.  I recently had a fairly new drive just die and replaced it over a month ago, but it had nothing to do with the PC, just failed due to a manufacturing defect and was replaced by the manufacturer.

Reply
Options

44 Posts

03-26-2012

United States of America

36 Signins

227 Page Views

  • Posts: 44
  • Registered: ‎03-26-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 227
  • Message 13 of 26

Re:Legion Tower 7i - Add a SSD

2021-07-24, 18:55 PM

@ KMiles wrote:

The included SATA cables should work fine with your drives.  Their connection point to the system board is hidden by the GPU for 4 of the 6 SATA ports. 

 

Thank you. I need to find four of those SATA cables to connect the new drives, hopefully without having to remove the 3080 GPU. (Do you think the other two of the six are for the two M.2 SSD sockets? ) I don't know which and where they are. Of course I also need to find the power cables for the 2.5" drives (assuming the two power cables I can see are for the two 3.5" drives.

 

Doug

Reply
Options

44 Posts

03-26-2012

United States of America

36 Signins

227 Page Views

  • Posts: 44
  • Registered: ‎03-26-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 227
  • Message 14 of 26

Re:Legion Tower 7i - Add a SSD

2021-07-24, 21:15 PM
Thank you. So shouldn't I see SATA cables coming from those connection points behind the GPU? I don't see any going either up toward the CPU or down toward the bottom of the chassis. Thanks you, Doug
Reply
Options

62 Posts

01-02-2017

United States of America

67 Signins

453 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 453
  • Message 15 of 26

Re:Legion Tower 7i - Add a SSD

2021-07-25, 5:27 AM

Mine only came with 2 Sata cables.  Adding additional cables is fairly easy, but you do have to remove the GPU to install them.

Reply
Options

44 Posts

03-26-2012

United States of America

36 Signins

227 Page Views

  • Posts: 44
  • Registered: ‎03-26-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 227
  • Message 16 of 26

Re:Legion Tower 7i - Add a SSD

2021-07-26, 13:13 PM

I am suspicious that since I didn't include any drives other than the boot SSD, no SATA cables were included. I bet I have to buy cables, remove the 3080 to access the mobo SATA connectors, and figure out which cables on the right side are unused SATA power cables. 

Thoughts? Thank you,

 

Doug

Reply
Options

44 Posts

03-26-2012

United States of America

36 Signins

227 Page Views

  • Posts: 44
  • Registered: ‎03-26-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 227
  • Message 17 of 26

Re:Legion Tower 7i - Add a SSD

2021-07-29, 17:19 PM
Thank you. It is curious that the hardware maintenance manual's drawing of the mobo does not show any SATA connectors.
Reply
Options

44 Posts

03-26-2012

United States of America

36 Signins

227 Page Views

  • Posts: 44
  • Registered: ‎03-26-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 227
  • Message 18 of 26

Re:Legion Tower 7i - Add a SSD

2021-07-30, 0:13 AM

I see that two data cables are installed, and there are several power connectors on the power supply cable tucked deeply inside.

Reply
Options

44 Posts

03-26-2012

United States of America

36 Signins

227 Page Views

  • Posts: 44
  • Registered: ‎03-26-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 227
  • Message 19 of 26

Re:Legion Tower 7i - Add a SSD

2021-07-30, 0:15 AM

The 10TB HDD was not recognized, alas. I did install two 2TB HDDs successfully. I wonder if there is a larger size <10TB that works.

Reply
Options

5662 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8456 Signins

137563 Page Views

  • Posts: 5662
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 137563
  • Message 20 of 26

Re:Legion Tower 7i - Add SSD and HDDs

2021-07-30, 14:18 PM

I've read here of 4TB drives being successfully added to all types of newer Lenovo systems, and if 4TB GPT format is possible, higher capacities are theoretically possible.  You did format the 10TB using GPT?  (Any drive larger than 2TB must be GPT)

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms