English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Desktops
All Forum Topics
Options

32 Posts

07-08-2017

PL

48 Signins

473 Page Views

  • Posts: 32
  • Registered: ‎07-08-2017
  • Location: PL
  • Views: 473
  • Message 1 of 13

Lenovo y710 Cube RAM upgrade issue

2017-07-23, 17:02 PM

Hi there. I've just tried installing the 8GB memory module that I bought to upgrade the 8Gb one that came with my Y710. Unfortunatelly the computer just doesn't start with a new module. I tried emtying the dimm socket with the original memory and running just the ne one but the same thing happens. No post, no image just pc speaker playing something resembling a short tune over and over again no beep pattern, the power button not working as well - had to unplug the power cable to turn the computer off. After installing the original memory module (Samsung m378a2k43bb1-cpb) everything works just fine as before. The memory that I bought seems to have the same specs - it is also from Samsung with the code m378a1g43db0-cpb on it. The same 2133 frequency, latency, voltage, capacity - although the one I bought has memory chips on either sode of the module while the original one just on one side but I guess it shouldn't matter, or maybe not? Maybe I should clear the cmos on the motherboard first? But I don't know how it is done on y710 mobo - which jumper, if any should be cleared. I looked up the manual but there's no info in it as regards clearing cmos.

Can anybody here give me a hand with suggestions. Maybe I should buy a module from a diffrent brand if so from which one one ?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

32 Posts

07-08-2017

PL

48 Signins

473 Page Views

  • Posts: 32
  • Registered: ‎07-08-2017
  • Location: PL
  • Views: 473
  • Message 2 of 13

Re: Lenovo y710 Cube RAM upgrade issue

2017-07-23, 20:40 PM

I have additional question. Is there any way to access memory configuration in bios of y710, any hot key to press or is this bios feature locked away the way it is normally on notebook bioses?

Reply
Options

105 Posts

01-24-2017

US

330 Signins

1810 Page Views

  • Posts: 105
  • Registered: ‎01-24-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1810
  • Message 3 of 13

Re: Lenovo y710 Cube RAM upgrade issue

2017-07-24, 20:25 PM
I am not sure if combining double-sided Ram could cause the conflict. Can you try the ram in another system? I am wondering if perhaps you just have a bad dimm.
Reply
Options

4563 Posts

01-01-2012

US

8116 Signins

124643 Page Views

  • Posts: 4563
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 124643
  • Message 4 of 13

Re: Lenovo y710 Cube RAM upgrade issue

2017-07-24, 21:48 PM

 although the one I bought has memory chips on either sode of the module while the original one just on one side but I guess it shouldn't matter, or maybe not?

It possible that the system doesn't recognize the lower density chips.  I do know that on Lenovo ThinkCentre desktops, the memory must be the same density.   Kingston and Crucial have "System Specific" memory, which is OEM equivalent and guaranteed to be 100% compatible. 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

5067 Posts

11-22-2011

US

5781 Signins

89683 Page Views

  • Posts: 5067
  • Registered: ‎11-22-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 89683
  • Message 5 of 13

Re: Lenovo y710 Cube RAM upgrade issue

2017-07-25, 3:07 AM

m378a2k43bb1-cpb, your factory ram is 16GB density. 

From the US ordering web site, ratings and reviews.

The models available are up to 16GB but you can upgrade ram in the future for the max of 32GB type of ram 2133MHz DDR4

My notes:

m378a2k43bb1-cpb   oem
2G x64 16GB cpb B(2Rx8) 1GBx8 *16pcs rank 2

m378a1g43db0-cpb   new  
1G x64 8GB  cpb B(2rx8) 512mx8 *16pcs rank 2

From PDF page 10: 

http://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/global/file/product/DDR4_Product_guide_May15.pdf

There is a newer guide: Also page 10:

http://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/global/file/resourceMgmt/2016/11/DDR4_Product_guide_Oct.16-0.pdf

 

In my opinion, your new 8GB stick should work, for a total of 24GB installed. Your new 8GB stick should work standalone, without the 16GB stick.  You state new 8GB standalone does not work.

Reply
Options

32 Posts

07-08-2017

PL

48 Signins

473 Page Views

  • Posts: 32
  • Registered: ‎07-08-2017
  • Location: PL
  • Views: 473
  • Message 6 of 13

Re: Lenovo y710 Cube RAM upgrade issue

2017-07-25, 8:31 AM

Thanks for replying. I got round my problem by just taking my y710 (after all it is a small factor one:-) ) to my local computer store and just testing and buying Kingston 8gb memory module. It fired up right away and has worked flawlessly eversince. I'll just send back the Samsung RAM I had bought previously and ask for refund. You maybe right about the density of chips - I just didn't know it could cause the issue. Now I'm finally happy with my purchase - my route of buying a basic i7 6700 model and adding gtx1080, additional 8Gb RAM and 2TB HDD (240 SSD came preinstalled) proved worth risking (especially from a financial standpoint) and the y710 Cube is a really slick machine. I think it will last me a couple of years and then I'll upgrade gpu or even cpu. Right now I'm tweaking my gtx 1080 performance to strike the right balance between the 3.0 boost level, heat output and the fan noise. I have undervolted the card a bit and now it is very cool while drawing less power and offering very good performence which is above stock one.

 

Thanks again for hints and take care!

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

5067 Posts

11-22-2011

US

5781 Signins

89683 Page Views

  • Posts: 5067
  • Registered: ‎11-22-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 89683
  • Message 7 of 13

Re: Lenovo y710 Cube RAM upgrade issue

2017-07-25, 11:40 AM

Please confirm you are now using 24GB Ram total.

What is the part number of the new Kingston 8GB ram?

Could you download CPU-Z, and post INFO screen shots of the two memory sticks? 

This would be the SPD tab. Select slot #1, then select slot #2.

http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html

Reply
Options

32 Posts

07-08-2017

PL

48 Signins

473 Page Views

  • Posts: 32
  • Registered: ‎07-08-2017
  • Location: PL
  • Views: 473
  • Message 8 of 13

Re: Lenovo y710 Cube RAM upgrade issue

2017-07-25, 17:19 PM

I'm running two 8GB sticks now as they didn't have a 16gb stick at the shop when I visited them - so one is Samsung 8GB module and the other one is 8GB Kingston. I've attached cpu-z creens as you requested.

Reply
Options

32 Posts

07-08-2017

PL

48 Signins

473 Page Views

  • Posts: 32
  • Registered: ‎07-08-2017
  • Location: PL
  • Views: 473
  • Message 9 of 13

Re: Lenovo y710 Cube RAM upgrade issue

2017-07-25, 17:20 PM

I don't know how to post two screenshots at the same time so here's another one...

Reply
Options

5067 Posts

11-22-2011

US

5781 Signins

89683 Page Views

  • Posts: 5067
  • Registered: ‎11-22-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 89683
  • Message 10 of 13

Re: Lenovo y710 Cube RAM upgrade issue

2017-07-25, 18:36 PM

Indeed your original OEM samsung is 8GB as you stated.

You typed: m378a2k43bb1-cpb <16GB stick

You meant:m378a1k43bb1-cpb <8  GB stick <single rank

 

Your new (returned)Samsung 8GB is dual rank.

You can not mix ranks.

I will not get into double sided, dual ranks,etc. 

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete