cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
audpar
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2017
Location: PL
Views: 6,290
Message 1 of 39

Y900: Motherboard M.2 SSD, not showing up in BIOS, but visible in Win 10; benchmarks, temps

Y900-34ISZ:    I'm trying to install ADATA 256GB M.2 PCIe NVMe XPG SX8000 into my Y900 ideacentre through M.2 interface.

It's not visible in BIOS (recently updated), so I can't clone my windows partition onto it and boot from it.

It's visible and working perfectly after win10 boots from other HDD...

what am I missing?

 

Mod:  edited Subject Line with the system type, expanded description

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 915
Registered: ‎07-05-2016
Location: GB
Views: 6,182
Message 2 of 39

Re: ssd m.2 not showing up in BIOS, works in windows


@audpar wrote:

I'm trying to install ADATA 256GB M.2 PCIe NVMe XPG SX8000 into my Y900 ideacentre through m.2 interface.

It's not visible in BIOS (recently updated), so I can't clone my windows partition onto it and boot from it.

It's visible and working perfectly after win10 boots from other HDD...

what am I missing?


Hi audpar and welcome to the community,

 

Have you tried to clean install the OS and see if it show in the Windows installation?

 

Hope this help you and let us know how you get on


=====================================================================================
Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

 

This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

audpar
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2017
Location: PL
Views: 6,175
Message 3 of 39

Re: ssd m.2 not showing up in BIOS, works in windows

Hi,

thanks for reply.

 

I've cloned windows partition from HDD to SSD using different tool (EaseUS todo backup) which operates in windows and only after that disk on m.2 was visible in bios and is now bootable.

John_in_NC
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-30-2016
Location: US
Views: 6,161
Message 4 of 39

Re: ssd m.2 not showing up in BIOS, works in windows

Which protocol does the M.2 slot support NVME or AHCI?
audpar
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2017
Location: PL
Views: 6,152
Message 5 of 39

Re: ssd m.2 not showing up in BIOS, works in windows

NVME

fullonshred
Token Ring
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎01-24-2017
Location: US
Views: 6,140
Message 6 of 39

Re: ssd m.2 not showing up in BIOS, works in windows

Hello audpar. I am looking at this exact M.2 pcie ssd for my Y900-34isz. What read and write speeds are you gettying from yours? I cannot find info anywhere on whether the M.2 slot in this computer functions at PCIE 3.0x4 speeds or not. Would also appreciate info on your cloning process. Any help will be much appreciated.

audpar
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2017
Location: PL
Views: 6,123
Message 7 of 39

Re: ssd m.2 not showing up in BIOS, works in windows

Well, it's supported. My results below - they get even higher than certified 2000/600, so I'm quite satisfied. I'm only concerned about temperature as it almost never drops below 65 and goes up to 70, but in specs it says it's working temp is up to 70, so... I bough few fans, and hopefully it drops a bit after I install them.

 JZ73VlO

audpar
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2017
Location: PL
Views: 6,121
Message 8 of 39

Re: ssd m.2 not showing up in BIOS, works in windows

And for the cloning I've used EaseUS todo backup Free 10.0. There's an option called System clone. Just tick optimize for SSD, select appropriate source and destination drives, click 'next' few times and that's it. After cloning PC boots automatically from SSD (unless you've been messing with BIOS and changed that) and you can format windows partition in HDD.

If you have any data on your current HDD you have to make sure that whole current HDD win partition size will fit into SSD, mine was brand new so I didn't have to do that... 

fullonshred
Token Ring
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎01-24-2017
Location: US
Views: 6,109
Message 9 of 39

Re: ssd m.2 not showing up in BIOS, works in windows

Wow! Great news and Thank You for your speedy replies. You are The Trailblazer in this area as far as I am concerned. WRT the heat issues, I read that is true of most M.2 PCIE 3.0 x 4 SSDs. Main issue caused by heat so far is thermal throttling (slowdown) of data transfer as the drives heat up. This is usually only seen under sustained transfers of larger files, or transfer of many smaller files at once. IE, like copying or editing large or multiple music or video files.

 

I just read where ADATA is releasing a version of the SX8000 soon that will have a heat sink pre-installed. I may wait for that one. I also read in a review somewhere that someone took some small heatsinks meant for other uses and applied them to his M.2 drive and lowered the temps. This may void the warranty unless he can remove those without any trace if the device fails.

 

I am very interested in hearing of your results with adding more fans. I am guessing you may add some front fans pulling air in and hopefully blowing across the ADATA drive. Please post your results here if you will, as info on using M.2 in the Y900 line is scarce.

 

I also appreciate your sharing your OS clone experience. BTW, what BIOS are you using in your Y900, and did you go into the BIOS to change the Boot order to place the M.2 drive first in line? Did you have to download and install any NVME drivers or did Windows do that automatically after you first booted to the M.2 drive? Sorry for all the questions, but again, you are the first person I have found so far who has done this. Kudos to you, for sure!

audpar
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2017
Location: PL
Views: 6,100
Message 10 of 39

Re: ssd m.2 not showing up in BIOS, works in windows

Hah Smiley Happy

There wasn't really anything to 'trailblaze', everything was pretty straightforward, just plug'n'play Smiley Happy

 

I didn't have to install any drivers or change ANYTHING in bios. m.2 was already higher than HDD in boot, windows picked up ssd just after inserting. Biggest problem was system cloning, as Adata was suggesting using some other tool (Acronis true image or sth) and that wouldn't work, because it tried to clone disk not in windows (where ssd was visible) but just after the boot (before windows), where ssd wasn't somehow visible. Windows installer, however, was seeing the m.2 so I guess you could make a clean install easily.

 

I did only BIOS update (I don't think it was necessary though) and now have BIOS LENOVO O1ZKT39A, 06.07.2016

 

I saw the radiators and that Adata will launch something later on, but that was after I bought this one...

Anyway, I'll add the lower fan in front (I have upper one, but it's not reaching ssd) and get back with results.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors