English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Desktops
All Forum Topics
Options

6 Posts

02-14-2018

US

4 Signins

31 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎02-14-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 31
  • Message 1 of 4

motherboard upgrade

2018-03-09, 3:23 AM

I got a legion y720 desktop with rx 570 graphic card. I want to add one more graphic card and crossfire it, but there is no second x16 PCIe slot in it.

 

If I replace the mother board with a new one from amazon or elsewhere, would windows licence become void?

 

Regards

S.Guru

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

1811 Posts

12-12-2016

IN

1843 Signins

46611 Page Views

  • Posts: 1811
  • Registered: ‎12-12-2016
  • Location: IN
  • Views: 46611
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: motherboard upgrade

2018-03-09, 5:58 AM

Hi S.Guru,


Welcome to Lenovo Community! And happy to have you here.

 

Yes, Windows will not get activated as nowadays license is embedded on Motherboard. Also for more idea please check below article:

Reactivating Windows 10 after a hardware change

 

I hope the above information helped you. 

Please feel free to post in Lenovo Community Forums if you have any further queries!

 

Regards,
Prabhansh
_______________________________________________
Tap that Kudos button if I helped.
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

____________________________________________________
ThinkPad T440p| Intel® Core™ i5-4300M| 2.6 GHz Dual core| 8GB

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

6 Posts

02-14-2018

US

4 Signins

31 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎02-14-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 31
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: motherboard upgrade

2018-03-09, 13:24 PM

Thanks a lot mate. I will follow the steps given in the link when I upgrade the motherboard. Now shopping for the right now :)

Reply
Options

1 Posts

07-11-2020

BE

1 Signins

20 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎07-11-2020
  • Location: BE
  • Views: 20
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: case swap

2020-07-11, 16:44 PM

Hi,

 

About a week ago i tried to transfer my hardware (prebuilt) from a lenovo legion desktop case to a nzxt h510 but i couldn't 

because there we're Two cables soldered to the motherboard going through the case there was a black and a white cable

Do you have any idea if it's even possible to remove stuff from a prebuilt lenovo desktop?

 


 

    regards, 

R  riyad

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete