cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
coookiey
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-30-2018
Location: US
Views: 15,795
Message 1 of 9

Adding a SSD M.2. to Y520

Hello, I have recently been considiring too add a SSD M.2. to my Lenovo Y520. I have the 1 TB version of it, but this is truley slow, like slower then slowest. So I want to add a SSD to speed it up a littlebit. The question I have in mind is.

 

How do i do it with the OS. This is currently installed on the 1 TB HDD which the laptop came with, if i want to install a M.2. in this machine I also want to have the OS on that one and some other software. The 1 TB is just gonna work as a game/movie drive. Any suggestions?

 

Also what SSD do you recommend me to buy?

 

Cheers 

Lars

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,632
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 15,777
Message 2 of 9

Re: Adding a SSD M.2. to Y520

Hi coookiey,

 

Welcome to the Community Forums.

 

You can install an M.2 SSD / PCIe 3.0 x 4 along with your 1TB SATA HDD.

y520 m2.PNG

You may install another Windows 10 of the same version on the M.2 along with the driver and on the BIOS change the boot priority to it as primary boot then save and exit. The 2nd drive would stay with the original OS and big enough to hold most of your movie and data files too.

 

Recommended SSD are listed here on the hardware manual item 14 page 66.

Similar discussions here and here.

 

I hope this helps answer your query.

Update us how it goes best for you.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

coookiey
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-30-2018
Location: US
Views: 15,770
Message 3 of 9

Re: Adding a SSD M.2. to Y520

So just buy an OEM key for example and install Win10 on that one and the Lenovo drivers and stuff, and then for example reformat the 1 TB hdd or just have Win10 on that one also? Don't really need 2 drivers with win10 ?
Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,632
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 15,719
Message 4 of 9

Re: Adding a SSD M.2. to Y520

Hi coookiey,

 

Greetings.

 

Just install the same Windows version on the SSD.

Don't have to remove Windows on the 1 TB just yet, keep it for a while as a back up boot and decide later when things are stable.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

CyberSimian
Bit Torrent
Posts: 799
Registered: ‎07-10-2016
Location: GB
Views: 15,712
Message 5 of 9

Re: Adding a SSD M.2. to Y520


@spidey101 wrote:

Just install the same Windows version on the SSD


The one complication with doing that is that Windows on the SSD will use the UEFI partition on the HDD, meaning that you cannot remove the HDD in the future (e.g. to fit a larger HDD or replace it with a 2.5 inch SATA SSD).  Removing the HDD will stop the laptop booting (missing UEFI partition).

 

I think that the choices are:

 

(1) Install Windows on the SSD keeping the HDD connected.

 

This will create a dual-boot system, and allow you to boot either Windows on the SSD, or Windows on the HDD.  But the UEFI partition will remain on the HDD, so that you cannot remove or replace the HDD in the future.

 

(2) Disconnect the HDD and then install Windows on the SSD.

 

This will create a new UEFI partition on the SSD, and that is the one that will be used during boot.  After the installation is complete, you can reconnect the HDD.  Note that this does NOT create a dual-boot system, so Windows on the HDD will be accessible as a simple data disk but will not be bootable.  You can delete the Windows partition, UEFI partition, and recovery partitions on the HDD, and re-use the space for a single data partition.  Any of the free disk-management tools should be able to do this.  If you already have a data partition on the HDD, remember to copy the files to an external USB disk before repartitioning the HDD.

 

-- from CyberSimian in the UK

RockyBoi
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-22-2018
Location: DK
Views: 12,809
Message 6 of 9

Re: Adding a SSD M.2. to Y520

Dose the Y520 take the

Intel 660p 1TB M.2 SSD M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVMe, 3D2 QLC, up to 1800/1800 MB/s 200TBW

I were just wondering before i buy it

Siddharth30
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-15-2019
Location: IN
Views: 3,681
Message 7 of 9

Re: Adding a SSD M.2. to Y520

I have the same situation, but while purchasing the laptop I got the 2TB HDD option. So if I add a new PCIe SSD will it work? 

Guru
Posts: 957
Registered: ‎05-01-2012
Location: IL
Views: 3,678
Message 8 of 9

Re: Adding a SSD M.2. to Y520

Yes, it will

Siddharth30
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-15-2019
Location: IN
Views: 3,471
Message 9 of 9

Re: Adding a SSD M.2. to Y520

Hi, 

I added the a 500GB PCIe SSD, in the windows disk management the newly added SSD is showing up, I used Macrium Reflect to clone my windows to the SSD. But unfortunately the SSD is not being detected in the boot menu and I'm not able to boot from the newly added SSD.

Photo attached. 

Please help. 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors