Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

01-09-2020

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

5 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎01-09-2020
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 55
  • Message 1 of 6

Cant boot from new SSD

2020-10-10, 17:01 PM

Lenovo ideapad Y700-15ISK

Original SSD Model SAMSUNG MZNTY128HDHP-000L2

New SSD Crucial P5 1 TB CT1000P5SSD8

Windows 10

 

Windows is installed on my original SSD which has now run out of space so I'm trying to upgrade to a biger SSD. This is what I have tried step by step.

 

  1. Mounted new SSD into a USB holder
  2. Cloned original SSD (drive C) to new SSD - new SSD assigned the letter E
  3. Expanded Windows partition on new SSD
  4. Unplugged & opened up my laptop & swapped the SSDs
  5. Turned on computer & got the Lenovo splash screen & the whirly around dots. It blacked out a couple of times before suggesting it needed repairing.
  6. Turned it off & on, checked new drive was showing in the BIOS & was selected to boot from, all good but then same story as point 5.
  7. Replaced original SSD & boots up fine
  8. Plugged new SSD in via USB all in order

 

What am I missing here?

 

PS my arrow keys now only work if I hold down Fn

 

Reply
Options

4173 Posts

12-13-2016

United States of America

5894 Signins

69536 Page Views

  • Posts: 4173
  • Registered: ‎12-13-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 69536
  • Message 2 of 6

Re:Cant boot from new SSD

2020-10-10, 17:53 PM

Welcome to the Community

 

I can't be certain, but what sticks out to me is the reassignment of the drive letter. If you cloned the drive, then the registry and everything else is still looking for things on a drive that's no longer there. 

 

Does it show as C: when you install it in the computer?  I've done a number of SSD upgrades and all of those still showed up as the C: drive on reboot. 

 

Doc


____________________________________
I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo. I love beer.

Using Browser Search To Find Answers in the Lenovo and Moto Communities
Check out our new Recent Service Tips Area ..your issue may already be solved!
Reply
Options

8 Posts

01-09-2020

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

5 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎01-09-2020
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 55
  • Message 3 of 6

Re:Cant boot from new SSD

2020-10-10, 18:15 PM
I've no way of telling as the drive letters dont show up in the BIOS as far as I can see
Reply
Options

4445 Posts

12-22-2008

Canada

12842 Signins

187501 Page Views

  • Posts: 4445
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 187501
  • Message 4 of 6

Re:Cant boot from new SSD

2020-10-10, 18:24 PM

I would do the installation procedure "backwards."

  1. Put the original SSD in the USB enclosure.
  2. Put the new SSD inside your system.
  3. Boot the system temporarily from the SSD in the USB enclosure.
  4. Partition/format the new SSD.
  5. Clone the old SSD to the new one.
  6. Reboot normally from the internal SSD.

Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

12979 Posts

06-06-2011

Russian Federation

17944 Signins

178535 Page Views

  • Posts: 12979
  • Registered: ‎06-06-2011
  • Location: Russian Federation
  • Views: 178535
  • Message 5 of 6

Re:Cant boot from new SSD

2020-10-10, 21:22 PM
My suggestion is to clone entire (!) drive, not selected partition(s) if you need the bootable drive with old OS installed. Keep existing partition letters, don't touch them on the target drive during the cloning process. Swap the drive, boot the laptop from the new drive, remove unneeded partitions, expand the partitions for unused capacity. IMHO the error in the 1st scenario is caused by the boot loader issue. Right this August I've performed this scenario once again using OEM version of the Acronis application.



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #Retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

Reply
Options

71 Posts

08-31-2020

United States of America

35 Signins

420 Page Views

  • Posts: 71
  • Registered: ‎08-31-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 420
  • Message 6 of 6

Re:Cant boot from new SSD

2020-10-12, 0:03 AM

You have to clone the entire drive because there is a hidden boot partition that points to the Windows partition.  Do this:

 

Clone the entire drive.

 

Put the new drive in the laptop, if not already and remove the original drive.

 

Boot up and then expand the partition to fit the new drive size. EaseUS Partition Magic is a great free software for this.

 

Then, and this is the tricky part, wipe all partitions on the old drive. It's tricky because you don't want to just stick it back in the machine and have the bios accidentally boot from it, or have Windows accidentally use the boot/reserved partition on the original drive. The cleanest way is to place it in an external drive holder or let it be the only drive in the laptop and use a bootable OS or utility to wipe it.

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms