Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

29 Posts

12-31-2018

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

70 Signins

539 Page Views

  • Posts: 29
  • Registered: ‎12-31-2018
  • Location: Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Views: 539
  • Message 1 of 9

Flashing 1060 vBIOS onto 1060 Max-Q (Upgrade GPU INTO REGULAR 1060M)

2019-02-10, 5:28 AM

Hey guys,

I have a curious question here.

 

Would it be possible to flash a normal 1060 mobile vbios (for example the y720 one) onto the 1060 max q ? (Legion y520 ikbm verison)

 

I'm running into power limit issues while trying to overclock and its super annoying.

 

some users tested this vbios flashing with their own laptops with custom vbios BUT i want to flash a signed one not a custom.

 

http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/mobile-pascal-tdp-tweaker-update-and-feedback-thread.806161/

 

Had anyone any experience on this? would be appreciate.

Reply
Options

111 Posts

01-01-2018

Lithuania

571 Signins

4944 Page Views

  • Posts: 111
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2018
  • Location: Lithuania
  • Views: 4944
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: Flashing 1060 vBIOS onto 1060 Max-Q (Upgrade GPU INTO REGULAR 1060M)

2019-02-10, 14:25 PM

 wrote:

Hey guys,

I have a curious question here.

 

Would it be possible to flash a normal 1060 mobile vbios (for example the y720 one) onto the 1060 max q ? (Legion y520 ikbm verison)

 

I'm running into power limit issues while trying to overclock and its super annoying.

 

some users tested this vbios flashing with their own laptops with custom vbios BUT i want to flash a signed one not a custom.

 

http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/mobile-pascal-tdp-tweaker-update-and-feedback-thread.806161/

 

Had anyone any experience on this? would be appreciate.


Undervolt it. You can easily avoid power limit with lower voltages and still overclock gpu. For example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYW7ROFx2Kk&t

LENOVO Legion Y530. I7-8750h, Nvidia GeForce 1050 Ti, 16GB ram 2666MHz. SSD(128GB), HDD 1TB(7200RPM)
Reply
Options

29 Posts

12-31-2018

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

70 Signins

539 Page Views

  • Posts: 29
  • Registered: ‎12-31-2018
  • Location: Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Views: 539
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: Flashing 1060 vBIOS onto 1060 Max-Q (Upgrade GPU INTO REGULAR 1060M)

2019-02-10, 17:19 PM

I don't think less voltage can help my issue cause it has already less voltages than even a regular 1060 mobile (It's a Max-Q 1060)

as the mentioned guide it's for the 1060m and 1050ti not max-q versions

 

Despite that i've already undervolted my cpu to bypass the thermal throttling

 

I really need a perma solution to bypass Max-Q power limit

 

and atleast get the regular 1060m power limits

 

gpu always throttles and performance is capped with "pwr" PrefCap reason, although the temperature is below 63C under heavy load

Reply
Options

111 Posts

01-01-2018

Lithuania

571 Signins

4944 Page Views

  • Posts: 111
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2018
  • Location: Lithuania
  • Views: 4944
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: Flashing 1060 vBIOS onto 1060 Max-Q (Upgrade GPU INTO REGULAR 1060M)

2019-02-10, 17:26 PM

 wrote:

I don't think less voltage can help my issue cause it has already less voltages than even a regular 1060 mobile (It's a Max-Q 1060)

as the mentioned guide it's for the 1060m and 1050ti not max-q versions

 

Despite that i've already undervolted my cpu to bypass the thermal throttling

 

I really need a perma solution to bypass Max-Q power limit

 

and atleast get the regular 1060m power limits

 

gpu always throttles and performance is capped with "pwr" PrefCap reason, although the temperature is below 63C under heavy load


Yea sure, expert. CPU undervolt have nothing in common with gpu apart temperature because cpu and gpu use same heatpipes. I have experienced same issuee. But do whatever you want. Mess with BIOS better than easily undervolt and have better perfomance temperatures and especially no power limit on gpu :smileyvery-happy:

LENOVO Legion Y530. I7-8750h, Nvidia GeForce 1050 Ti, 16GB ram 2666MHz. SSD(128GB), HDD 1TB(7200RPM)
Reply
Options

29 Posts

12-31-2018

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

70 Signins

539 Page Views

  • Posts: 29
  • Registered: ‎12-31-2018
  • Location: Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Views: 539
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: Flashing 1060 vBIOS onto 1060 Max-Q (Upgrade GPU INTO REGULAR 1060M)

2019-02-10, 17:47 PM

NO i don't want to mess up with bios cause there is no reason to brick my gpu :smileylol:

I just want to make sure if there is any evidence on that or is this already tested by some users cause there is very little details about it

 

Btw i'd like to test your idea and see what is goes

 

But the problem is that i haven't found any tested curve setting for the Max-Q version of 1060

 

If you have seen any tested or stable one i would be appreciate dude:heart:

Reply
Options

111 Posts

01-01-2018

Lithuania

571 Signins

4944 Page Views

  • Posts: 111
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2018
  • Location: Lithuania
  • Views: 4944
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: Flashing 1060 vBIOS onto 1060 Max-Q (Upgrade GPU INTO REGULAR 1060M)

2019-02-10, 17:57 PM

 wrote:

NO i don't want to mess up with bios cause there is no reason to brick my gpu :smileylol:

I just want to make sure if there is any evidence on that or is this already tested by some users cause there is very little details about it

 

Btw i'd like to test your idea and see what is goes

 

But the problem is that i haven't found any tested curve setting for the Max-Q version of 1060

 

If you have seen any tested or stable one i would be appreciate dude:heart:


Be patient and test yourself. I've found my best settings -0.135v with +200~[i can't remember stock],+350 memory. The only bad thing you can experience is BSOD. You should know what is this from cpu undervolt. GPU undervolt works the same as cpu only difference on gpu undervolt there is graph. 

LENOVO Legion Y530. I7-8750h, Nvidia GeForce 1050 Ti, 16GB ram 2666MHz. SSD(128GB), HDD 1TB(7200RPM)
Reply
Options

29 Posts

12-31-2018

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

70 Signins

539 Page Views

  • Posts: 29
  • Registered: ‎12-31-2018
  • Location: Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Views: 539
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: Flashing 1060 vBIOS onto 1060 Max-Q (Upgrade GPU INTO REGULAR 1060M)

2019-02-10, 18:17 PM

ok,

So this is my default overclocked settings

what do you exactly suggest to do ?

Reply
Options

111 Posts

01-01-2018

Lithuania

571 Signins

4944 Page Views

  • Posts: 111
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2018
  • Location: Lithuania
  • Views: 4944
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: Flashing 1060 vBIOS onto 1060 Max-Q (Upgrade GPU INTO REGULAR 1060M)

2019-02-10, 19:38 PM

 wrote:

ok,

So this is my default overclocked settings

what do you exactly suggest to do ?


First of all save this stock profile then for example try setting voltage 1000 and clock speed at 2150MHz or more~ and make straight line to 1200(in other words right) with the same value and then make another profile save(ofcourse not with same number). After you apply curved line and mem clock(main page, not graph CTRL+F) start testing

LENOVO Legion Y530. I7-8750h, Nvidia GeForce 1050 Ti, 16GB ram 2666MHz. SSD(128GB), HDD 1TB(7200RPM)
Reply
Options

29 Posts

12-31-2018

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

70 Signins

539 Page Views

  • Posts: 29
  • Registered: ‎12-31-2018
  • Location: Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Views: 539
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: Flashing 1060 vBIOS onto 1060 Max-Q (Upgrade GPU INTO REGULAR 1060M)

2019-02-11, 2:00 AM

I have tried it with different voltages (More and less) but all the results was same as the previous (like i've done nothing!):smileyfrustrated:

As i said before gpu still throttles and performance is capped with "pwr" PrefCap reason

max core clock is 1860 (and this is just for 1 second before POWERLIMIT shows up) then it throttles back to 1433~1644 again back to 1860... and so on

Now i'm pretty sure that this powerlimit number "??W" is hard coded somewhere in bios or Vbios (i wish i could find someone expert enough to find a way to flash this vbios)

 

also i've unlocked voltage control so thats not the issue:smileylol:

 

 

 

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms