English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

03-17-2016

United States

5 Signins

38 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎03-17-2016
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 38
  • Message 1 of 3

HyperX RAM upgrade for Lenovo Y700 Touch

2016-03-17, 21:25 PM

Hey guys! I just got my Y700 Touch yesterday and I am pretty happy with it. My specific model is the 80NW000PUS Y700T-15ISK model. It comes with 8 GB memory, 4GB Nvidia GTX 960M, and 1TB HDD. I am looking into upgrading this computer to its maximum supported RAM of 16GB as well as adding a M.2 SSD drive to compliment the 1TB HDD. My question is would any of the Kingston HyperX series RAM upgrades work on this computer? This would be my first time upgrading anything on a computer and I need to make sure that any of the HyperX series RAM upgrades will work. Specifically I am looking at the Savage series of HyperX units. I am looking at this model: Savage Memory Black - 16GB Kit*(2x8GB) - DDR4 3000MHz Intel XMP CL15 DIMM
Part Number: HX430C15SB2K2/16
Specs: DDR4 , 3000MHz , CL15 , 1.35V , Unbuffered
Timings: 3000MHz, 15-17-17, 1.35V; 2666MHz, 14-15-15, 1.35V
As mentioned above I am looking to get an M.2 SSD added as well. I am looking at the Samsung EVO 250GB M.2 SSD Here is a link to the amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00TGIVZTW/ref=s9_simh_gw_g147_i1_r?ie=UTF8&fpl=fresh&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=desktop-1&pf_rd_r=11M2B9YHJ6BPQF08GDQ6&pf_rd_t=36701&pf_rd_p=2079475242&pf_rd_i=desktop

Is this possible for either one? Also, if the SSD upgrade is compatible with the computer, will the system automatically start booting quicker or do I have to load windows onto that SSD? I am not sure how this works. Any insight will help! Thanks in advance!

Reply
Options

8354 Posts

01-13-2008

US

77293 Signins

2193969 Page Views

  • Posts: 8354
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2193969
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: HyperX RAM upgrade for Lenovo Y700 Touch

2016-03-17, 23:27 PM

Hello and welcome,

 

First, I'm not familiar with your laptop, DDR4 RAM, or Kingston RAM.  That said, the product you list looks like desktop RAM, not laptop RAM.  The pin count is wrong - as is the size.

 

Using Kingston's memory finder for the Y700 Touch yields this:

 

http://www.kingston.com/us/memory/search/discontinuedmodels?DeviceType=&Mfr=LEN&Line=IdeaPad&Model=93906

 

Checking another manufacturer - Crucial: (no separate listing for touch - so verify)

 

http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatible-upgrade-for/Lenovo/ideapad-y700-15isk

 

I'm not endorsing either selection, just giving you things to consider.

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English

Reply
Options

3 Posts

03-17-2016

United States

5 Signins

38 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎03-17-2016
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 38
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: HyperX RAM upgrade for Lenovo Y700 Touch

2016-03-18, 0:46 AM

Oh ok! I checked out both sites and saw that the pin count (according to Kingston) is 260. I then went on to Newegg to look up laptop specific memory units with a 260 pin count and 2X8GB sticks. Here is what I got: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&IsNodeId=1&N=100007609%20600566557%20600213067

Apparently another Lenovo user with the same laptop model (15ISK) purchased this Rip Jaws model and it works: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&IsNodeId=1&N=100007609%20600566557%20600213067

I think I will take a look in to this model some more. Besides pin count, are there any other specifications that must be met in order for aftermarket RAM to work on my computer? 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete