English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

08-30-2020

RU

11 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-30-2020
  • Location: RU
  • Views: 50
  • Message 1 of 10

Legion 5 15ARH05 maximum RAM

2020-08-30, 16:36 PM

Does Lenovo Legion 5 15ARH05 with AMD Ryzen 5 / 7 CPU support more than 16 Gb of RAM ?

Lenovo PSREF says "16GB max offering". But "offering" means only that it's shipped with 16Gb max.  And what about manual upgrade?

Did anyone try to install 32 Gb RAM on its own ?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

3284 Posts

12-22-2008

CA

12335 Signins

177609 Page Views

  • Posts: 3284
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 177609
  • Message 2 of 10

Re:Legion 5 15ARH05 maximum RAM

2020-08-30, 18:02 PM

Welcome to the forum.

 

Inside Lenovo Legion 5 (15) – disassembly and upgrade options says, "there are two RAM SODIMM slots. According to Lenovo, they sell the notebook with a maximum of 16GB of DDR4, working at 3200 MHz in dual-channel mode. However, we are pretty positive that it can hold up to at least 32GB in total."

 

That's not conclusive. But then in the comments section, user AX01 says, "Yes, it does support 32GB (2*16) 3200Mhz 1.2v So-dimm in dual channel mode."


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

68 Posts

08-31-2020

US

33 Signins

400 Page Views

  • Posts: 68
  • Registered: ‎08-31-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 400
  • Message 3 of 10

Re:Legion 5 15ARH05 maximum RAM

2020-09-02, 16:49 PM

My Legion 5 15, and 32 GB (2x16 3200) on the side, is supposed to be here on Fri 9/4.  I'll post back once I've tried.

Reply
Options

68 Posts

08-31-2020

US

33 Signins

400 Page Views

  • Posts: 68
  • Registered: ‎08-31-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 400
  • Message 4 of 10

Re:Legion 5 15ARH05 maximum RAM

2020-09-06, 0:26 AM

I wanted to report back that I successfully upgraded my Legion 5 15 to 32GB of RAM using (2) 16 GB sticks of 3200. 

 

I have no clue why Lenovo keeps saying that 16GB is the limit.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

09-07-2020

GB

3 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎09-07-2020
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 15
  • Message 5 of 10

Re:Legion 5 15ARH05 maximum RAM

2020-09-07, 13:33 PM

Hi, I'm glad to hear the RAM is upgradeable. Did you by any chance get the part number of the original RAM in the system and it's CAS latency? My friend might get this but he'll want to upgrade the RAM also, and get a matching memory stick.

Reply
Options

68 Posts

08-31-2020

US

33 Signins

400 Page Views

  • Posts: 68
  • Registered: ‎08-31-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 400
  • Message 6 of 10

Re:Legion 5 15ARH05 maximum RAM

2020-09-07, 14:38 PM

Here is the original 8GB that came with.

20200907_103640.jpg
Reply
Options

2 Posts

08-30-2020

RU

11 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-30-2020
  • Location: RU
  • Views: 50
  • Message 7 of 10

Re:Legion 5 15ARH05 maximum RAM

2020-09-19, 15:24 PM

Got my Lenovo Legion 5 15ARH05 82B500GHRK (Ryzen 4600H, GeForce 1650, 8GB RAM) and an additional 16GB RAM module. 

So now I have 24GB RAM and it works perfect !  

Sure that 24GB RAM is more than enough for AutoCAD and some other engineering software :)

Reply
Options

8 Posts

09-16-2017

US

24 Signins

359 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎09-16-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 359
  • Message 8 of 10

Re:Legion 5 15ARH05 maximum RAM

2020-09-20, 22:27 PM
I bought the Ryzen 5 Legion recently and thought it max'd out at 16Gb (8x2). Great to know it can go higher! The spec sheet must have meant 16Gb per socket.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-19-2020

US

4 Signins

45 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-19-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 45
  • Message 9 of 10

Re:Legion 5 15ARH05 maximum RAM

2020-09-29, 6:02 AM
Hi, Which sticks did you order and install?
Reply
Options

21 Posts

09-24-2020

GB

39 Signins

485 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎09-24-2020
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 485
  • Message 10 of 10

Re:Legion 5 15ARH05 maximum RAM

2020-09-29, 7:58 AM

Can confirm. 


I have 32gb (2 x 16) installed and running in mine @ 3200 (I have the legion 5p AMD variant).

 

Whatever ram you instal, you should try to keep both slots holding the same speed and size to take full advantage of dual channel (so 2x8 or 2x16), especially with AMD.

 

Hope this helps.


EDIT below is the ram I have installed.

FB5A929F-2197-4EC5-9C68-E050D7422EA9.jpeg
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete