English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

06-10-2019

BA

7 Signins

135 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎06-10-2019
  • Location: BA
  • Views: 135
  • Message 1 of 3

Legion Y520-15IKBN problem with WD blue SN500 NVMe SSD

2019-07-06, 23:47 PM

Hello!

My name is Mladen and I have a problem with my SSD. It is a WD Blue M2  (https://documents.westerndigital.com/content/dam/doc-library/en_us/assets/public/western-digital/product/internal-drives/wd-blue-sn500-nvme-ssd/product-brief-wd-blue-sn500-nvme-ssd.pdf?_ga=2.210433045.1813206872.1562453356-1076763386.1562453356,)

Am I did wrong research? Is this SSD compatible with my lenovo y520? After i removed the back cover, i put it in place in correct way. I started the laptop, but the SSD can not be recognized nor in BIOS nor in Disk Manager. My windows 10 is not in AHCI mode.

Please if someone have a solution i would be so thankful.

Yours Sincerely

Mladen

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

807 Posts

07-10-2016

GB

3134 Signins

83537 Page Views

  • Posts: 807
  • Registered: ‎07-10-2016
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 83537
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: Legion Y520-15IKBN problem with WD blue SN500 NVMe SSD

2019-07-07, 8:49 AM

 wrote:

I started the laptop, but the SSD can not be recognized nor in BIOS nor in Disk Manager. My windows 10 is not in AHCI mode.


I think that you need to change your system to AHCI mode, but Windows will need a corresponding change (otherwise it won't boot). The following web page tells you how to do this:

 

How to switch from Intel RST to AHCI without re-installing Windows

 

-- from CyberSimian in the UK

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

2 Posts

06-10-2019

BA

7 Signins

135 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎06-10-2019
  • Location: BA
  • Views: 135
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: Legion Y520-15IKBN problem with WD blue SN500 NVMe SSD

2019-07-16, 16:18 PM

After loaded DEFAULT BIOS SETUP, my WD becomes visible in the BIOS.

But still invisible for Windows 10. Than I did clean Windows installation and fix my problem.

Now, everything is OK. Bios must be in AHCI mode.

Thanks! 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save