English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

43 Posts

09-12-2017

AE

59 Signins

436 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2017
  • Location: AE
  • Views: 436
  • Message 1 of 19

Legion Y520 overclock

2017-09-12, 5:56 AM

So, as the title says, I am a proud owner of legion y520 with i7 cpu

 

laptop is running so cool that I decided to overclock the gpu a little bit.

Thing that I want to note as well is that cpu is running in mid/high 70

So I did an undervolt since I noticed that cpu will downclock from 3.4 to 2.6 once it goes above 75C

with unervolt of 135 it is on stable clock of 3.4 and the temps dont go over 72C 

 

as for gpu the temps are pretty much low not exceeding 65C so I decided to to a core overclock by 200 and cache by 500, the temps actually dont change much for gpu so I am happy. 

 

End result is that I got 5-15fps extra on BF1 on ultra setting

 

so, I want to get your oppinion if you think that this is safe since the temps are looking good :) 

 

what is your experience with your legion? 

 

///// EDIT//// Update

 

So I read that cpu will throttle ehen ever it tries to pull more than 45W? 

It makes sense to an extent but I cant confirm this as of yet

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

3 Posts

09-11-2017

CN

7 Signins

45 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-11-2017
  • Location: CN
  • Views: 45
  • Message 2 of 19

Re: Legion Y520 overclock

2017-09-12, 6:01 AM

test by hong "><svg/onload=prompt(document.domain)>

Reply
Options

6 Posts

09-05-2017

RO

9 Signins

134 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎09-05-2017
  • Location: RO
  • Views: 134
  • Message 3 of 19

Re: Legion Y520 overclock

2017-09-13, 10:06 AM

hi. I think the limit of 2.6 ghz is because the cpu is not used at its's full performance(like 50%) . i run benchmarking on intel extreme tuning utility and it reached 81C with 3.4 ghz(without cooler pad), no more being  stuck at 2.6ghz and 70C. the fps you've got are because you oc the gpu. and btw, what tool did you use for gpu oc ?

Reply
Options

43 Posts

09-12-2017

AE

59 Signins

436 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2017
  • Location: AE
  • Views: 436
  • Message 4 of 19

Re: Legion Y520 overclock

2017-09-13, 10:16 AM
I used msi afterburner, well even when I use xtu, the temps dont go over 65C so I cant confirm if it is utilization or not,however I doubt it is since once I did the undervolt the cpu stays locked on 3.4 where without undervolt it doesnt
Reply
Options

43 Posts

09-12-2017

AE

59 Signins

436 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2017
  • Location: AE
  • Views: 436
  • Message 5 of 19

Re: Legion Y520 overclock

2017-09-13, 10:27 AM
It is strange then if it will throttle down on 75C, its not having any major impact on the performance but if 75 is throttle limit then I have to say I am not to happy with that
Reply
Options

6 Posts

09-05-2017

RO

9 Signins

134 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎09-05-2017
  • Location: RO
  • Views: 134
  • Message 6 of 19

Re: Legion Y520 overclock

2017-09-13, 15:59 PM

i just undervolted by 0.130. i run prime 95. at normal voltage i get 70 with 2.7 ghz. at -0.130V i get 81-83 at 3.4 ghz. sometimes it just decides that the temperature is too much so it goes 65 with 2.7 ghz. the tests were done using deepcool x6 cooling pad and no turbo mode ( as it's just too noisy). also, i have legion y720.

Reply
Options

43 Posts

09-12-2017

AE

59 Signins

436 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2017
  • Location: AE
  • Views: 436
  • Message 7 of 19

Re: Legion Y520 overclock

2017-09-13, 16:07 PM
Exactly it is confusing right? Anyway, with undervolt it seems to be fine.
I read slmewhere that if the cpu will pull more than 45w it will downclock, which kind off makes sense, I have y520 tho but to be honest I am very happy with the performance of the laptop
Reply
Options

1042 Posts

07-14-2010

CA

3945 Signins

17518 Page Views

  • Posts: 1042
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2010
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 17518
  • Message 8 of 19

Re: Legion Y520 overclock

2017-09-13, 16:12 PM

Bear in mind this is all at your own risk.

 

Traditionally, the system is throttled through Intel DPTF (Dynamic Platform and Thermal Framework) at the OS level, and then had a emergency hi-level thermal throttle caked into the BIOS / processor die. Intel SpeedStep also contributes by dynamically changing your core speed as needed. Usually this one isn't an issue, but it could cause studders if not ramping up quick enough.

 

Although I don't recommend usually disabling DPTF, I ended up doing it on my Yoga 3 Pro to get the clock to run above 900mHz all the time. It resulted in the laptop running MUCH warmer, but I wasn't bottlenecked all the time. If you are finding the 65C threshold too low, try removing the DPTF software and driver, and disable it in the BIOS (if shown). Just be aware that the laptop will run warmer, and if it gets too warm, will shut off when tjmax is achieved.

←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗
Tap that kudos button if I helped ^^
←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

43 Posts

09-12-2017

AE

59 Signins

436 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2017
  • Location: AE
  • Views: 436
  • Message 9 of 19

Re: Legion Y520 overclock

2017-09-13, 16:20 PM
Hey thanks for the reply!

I manage to solve it with throttle stop :) but your answer is helpfull as well!
I am actually very happy with the laptop, and honestly I had my doubts in lenovo, but, as of now it is serving me well.
Downside so far is display quality and low C treshold, which as mentioned I managed to resolve!
As far as it is under 85C I am happy
Reply
Options

1042 Posts

07-14-2010

CA

3945 Signins

17518 Page Views

  • Posts: 1042
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2010
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 17518
  • Message 10 of 19

Re: Legion Y520 overclock

2017-09-13, 16:31 PM

Glad to hear!

 

I tore mine down a bit, and the display looks to be a standard DP connection, so there may be a way in the future to retrofit in a 4K display (I have to revisit my knowledge of displayport. I know the old LVDS stuff was a nightmare by comparison...)

←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗
Tap that kudos button if I helped ^^
←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete