cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
degimkenan
Punch Card
Views: 1,497
Message 1 of 12

Lenovo Legion Y520:Randomly Freezing and Authorized Service Couldn't Fix It After Two Attempts

Hi,

I've been using this laptop since summer of 2017 and it worked perfectly in first couple of months. After about January 2018 it started to freeze randomly.

The laptop freezes and I have no idea what causes it(Sometimes works perfectly for hours, sometimes only 10 minutes, sometimes it even freezes in booting screen and even in bios settings) and when it freezes there is nothing to do but to press the power button long enough to force shutdown. After every solution I knew and researched on the software, I figured there must be a hardware problem so I brought it to the authorized service located in Istanbul, Turkey. They repaired it in 2 days reporting they fixed an issue on the motherboard. When I tested if it would freeze again, I saw that they didn't fix the problem, it was still freezing randomly.

I took the laptop to the service again about a week ago and they tried to repair by changing SSD and HDD with new ones. Today I got the chance to use the laptop and it still freezes. It froze once while I was trying to install Windows 10 so I had to re-install and after that it froze again some minutes ago.

What should I do? I think the service is incapable of fixing the issue and I don't think I can fix this either.

Best Regards,

Kenan Degim

degimkenan
Punch Card
Views: 1,396
Message 2 of 12

Re: Lenovo Legion Y520:Randomly Freezing and Authorized Service Couldn't Fix It After Two Attempts

Hello again,

I recently found out that the laptop freezes only when it is plugged to the charger.

I didn't realize it since I almost never used it on its battery but I am pretty sure now that it does not freeze when it's running on the battery.

I hope this information means valuable for the solution

Thanks!

artior
What's DOS?
Views: 1,325
Message 3 of 12