cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Jerry_am
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-04-2018
Location: US
Views: 4,396
Message 1 of 9

Lenovo Legion Y520 SSD Upgrade 1TB

Hi! First time poster.

 

I'm considering upgrading my Legion Y520 from a 256GB SSD (NVMe SAMSUNG MZVLW256) to a 1TB SSD. I'm looking at a Samsung 960 EVO Series - 1TB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD (MZ-V6E1T0BW).  

 

My question is... are there any compatibility issues with the upgrade?

 

TIA,

...Jerry

Highlighted
Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,803
Registered: ‎12-12-2016
Location: IN
Views: 4,347
Message 2 of 9

Re: Lenovo Legion Y520 SSD Upgrade 1TB

Hi Jerry,


Welcome to Lenovo Community! And happy to have you here.

 

It should work fine IMHO as lot of users have successfully upgraded with Samsung 960 SSD.

 

I hope the above information helped you.

Please feel free to post in Lenovo Community Forums if you have any further queries!

 

Regards,
Prabhansh
_______________________________________________
Tap that Kudos button if I helped.
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

____________________________________________________
ThinkPad T440p| Intel® Core™ i5-4300M| 2.6 GHz Dual core| 8GB
Jerry_am
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-04-2018
Location: US
Views: 4,328
Message 3 of 9

Re: Lenovo Legion Y520 SSD Upgrade 1TB

"It should work fine IMHO as lot of users have successfully upgraded with Samsung 960 SSD."

Thanks so much for your reply. I've seen seen lots of successful upgrades for the 256GB & 512GB, but haven't seen any references to the 1TB. I just want to double check that there are no BIOS, Power supply or ??? problems for the higher capacity (1TB) version.

Thanks again,
...Jerry
Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,803
Registered: ‎12-12-2016
Location: IN
Views: 4,324
Message 4 of 9

Re: Lenovo Legion Y520 SSD Upgrade 1TB

I don't think so there will be any issues. Also according to this site, they are selling 1TB Samsung 960 SSD for Legion Y520. So look for the reseller with a good return policy in case. 

 

Prabhansh

____________________________________________________
ThinkPad T440p| Intel® Core™ i5-4300M| 2.6 GHz Dual core| 8GB
Jerry_am
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-04-2018
Location: US
Views: 4,239
Message 5 of 9

Re: Lenovo Legion Y520 SSD Upgrade 1TB

Okay, after being backordered for some time, I got my Samsung 1TB SSD (MZ-V6E1T0BW). After some Googling & seaching I can't find an upgrade procedure to upgrade from my existing 256GB SSD. The problem is that there is only one PCIe-NVMe slot on my Y520 and I don't have (and can't find) an external USB connector for a PCIe-NVMe drive.  Samsung Magician doesn't seem to support this.

 

I have Acronis True Image and want to clone the existing SDD to an external USB hard drive, install the new SSD and restore the drive image to the new SSD. Will that work? Any Windows 10 licensing issues? I'd like to hear from someone who has actually done this.

 

Any other ideas?

 

Thanks in advance,

...Jerry

aldumas
Token Ring
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎11-10-2017
Location: CA
Views: 4,233
Message 6 of 9

Re: Lenovo Legion Y520 SSD Upgrade 1TB

Don't worry about your windows 10 license. It's not tied to the hard drive. I went from a HDD to the Samsung 960 Evo 500gb without issue. With Acronis boot USB, you can write the image of the small ssd to a spare usb hard drive. Then swap the new bigger drive inside. Then restore the image to the new drive with Acronis boot usb.
Jerry_am
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-04-2018
Location: US
Views: 4,217
Message 7 of 9

Re: Lenovo Legion Y520 SSD Upgrade 1TB

Okay I installed the new SSD and booted successfully by booting from the Acronis USB then cloning the existing (smaller) SDD to a USB Hard Drive, replacing the existing SSD with the 1TB and cloning the USB Hard Drive back to the now installed 1TB.  Seems to have worked great except....

 

Upon boot my task bar tells me "No Audio Output Device Installed" (of course no sound). I downloaded the Realtek drivers and reinstalled. Device manager lists the Realtek driver with an warning indicator. I re-installed the factory SSD and the audio works fine so it's not a hardware issue. This is the last thing I thought I'd have a problem with.

 

Can anyone help?

 

...Jerry

aldumas
Token Ring
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎11-10-2017
Location: CA
Views: 4,212
Message 8 of 9

Re: Lenovo Legion Y520 SSD Upgrade 1TB

Try installing the drivers from Lenovo support specific to your laptop. (if you did not do that already.) You may want to do a basic repair with sfc scannow (cmd in admin - google it) As a side note I suggested you write an image (not cloning) to an external usb drive. Not sure it would change anything.
Jerry_am
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-04-2018
Location: US
Views: 4,204
Message 9 of 9

Re: Lenovo Legion Y520 SSD Upgrade 1TB

Thanks so much aldumas. That cracked the code!  The sfc /scannow was a great suggestion, but didn't help.  Making an Acronis Image backup of the old drive and a recovery to the new drive fixed the problem. I must have selected a wrong option when performing my cloning procedure.

 

In any case, everything looks great now.

 

Thanks again!

...Jerry

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors