09-14-2020

US

1 Signins

15 Page Views

• Views: 15
  • Message 1 of 2

Overheating? BSOD, Shutting off out of no where

2020-09-14, 23:44 PM

Hi, I have a lenovo Y520-15IKBM, it started last week my fans were so loud ang it seems like they are going full speed, I have never heard them that loud and I knew there's something wrong but wasnt sure what it was. So today I went to a shop to get it fixed they cleaned it and it seemed that it was fine ajd the guy said the fans are normal that way, but now my laptop just shut off by its own out of no where. I dont know what to do anymore, I'm not good with pc, please help 

Options

724 Posts

03-11-2020

NO

78 Signins

4408 Page Views

• Views: 4408
  • Message 2 of 2

Re:Overheating? BSOD, Shutting off out of no where

2020-09-15, 8:39 AM

Hi,

Welcome to the Lenovo forum community!

please try the following:

Disconnect the charger from the laptop, and the wall.  

Make sure the laptop is powered off, then press and hold the power button for 60 seconds.

Reconnect the charger to the laptop, then the wall.

Now try to start your computer.

Now, i want you to once in a while, when its running, put your hands around on different places, if you burn yourself, turn it off, then there is overheating happening, but if its just warm to the touch, there is mostly nothing to worry about, now if you get any BSOD, please note what it says.

Another thing you could do would be the following:

To do a factory reset, first you will need to make a backup of your important files to an external USB storage unit, or to an online drive.

Then you need to turn off your laptop completely, by holding down the power button for 10 seconds.