08-25-2020

United States of America

1 Signins

15 Page Views

• Views: 15
  • Message 1 of 3

Slow Legion Y530

2020-08-25, 20:57 PM

Last February (2019)I purchased a Legion y530 from Best Buy. I bought it because my best friends 11 year old son passed away and at the time I didn't want to leave her side. I bought it so I could work on the slideshow and program for the funeral but I also wanted it for work. (I'm a photographer). I primarily edit on a desktop. In July 2019 I went out of state for a wedding and brought my laptop to edit. It. was. so. slow. SLOOOOOOWWWW! It took me 45m to edit 4 photos between lightroom and Photoshop. I gave up and decided to edit the photos when I got home. The past year since returning I have used the laptop 3-4 times for the occasional browsing (showing clients online galleries, etc). My husband tried to use it for a proxied virtual exam; it didn't work. 

I have updated it, defragmented it, and I don't keep ANYTHING on the laptop itself, still, it's pure garbage. My husband is a Systems Engineer with a strong background in **bleep** near all things computers and he is stumped. Updates installed, no malware, drivers updated. Can't figure it out. 

I am at my wits end. I spent about $1k on this paperweight. I wish i would have sent it in when it was under warranty, but I used it so infrequently and just didn't think about it. 

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I just can't figure out why it's so terrible. It shouldn't take 5 minutes to load one photo into Photoshop (importing from lightroom). 

HELP! I'm ready to throw 3k at a Macbook! 🤬

Solved! See the solution
Options

4100 Posts

12-11-2015

United States of America

4487 Signins

50802 Page Views

• Views: 50802
  • Message 2 of 3

Re:Slow Y530

2020-08-25, 21:25 PM