cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Attila1346
Paper Tape
Views: 1,254
Message 1 of 8

Y520 wifi issues - killing the network when connecting.

Hi,

I have some issues with my newly bought laptop. Once i try to connect to the wifi, if keeps (instantly or after a couple of minutes) shutting it off. It is only the home network, i can connect to my phone's hotspot and it works well. I have all the drivers and they are the most up-to-date. What can cause the issue and how should i try to fix it? I am not an expert in the topic so please write in details Smiley Happy

Thank you,

Attila

Attila1346
Paper Tape
Views: 1,247
Message 2 of 8

Re: Y520 wifi issues - killing the network when connecting.

Let me add that once i connect with the laptop, all the other devices (phones, laptops) will be dropped together with mine. Previously, we have never encountered this issue with our devices.

Guru
Views: 1,210
Message 3 of 8

Has this problem been happening since you bought the laptop?

What if you try connecting to some other Wifi, let say at a friend's house?

---------------------------------
Current System - Lenovo Y720
Y720 REVIEW - Youtube Link (Opens in New Tab)
If your experience was good today, please feel free to give KUDOS. It Ain't Over, 'til it's over.
mbrierst
What's DOS?
Views: 1,149
Message 4 of 8

I have the same problem.  It has happened since I got the laptop and never before.  I haven't tried it on any other wifi networks.

Attila1346
Paper Tape
Views: 1,125
Message 5 of 8

I managed to solve the problem after I discovered my WiFi router is capable of providing 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz signals. I have always tried to connect to the 2.4 GHz because i hadn't have a clue about the 5 GHz, but after I discovered, it worked properly with the 5 GHz. Check if you are connecting to a 5 GHz wifi or try it on another router, that's what I could advice. 

mbrierst
What's DOS?
Views: 1,116
Message 6 of 8